Custom In-Game Menus

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Roy Crownguard

Custom In-Game Menus

#1 Post by Roy Crownguard »

Hello!! I'm quite new to Ren'py and was wondering if anyone could help me with what I had in mind for the visual novel I'm working on.

I wanted to make an in-game menu (you can access from a button in the navigation) which looks like the player's phone. From there on you can select the gallery, profiles, text messages you receive from the characters and so on. Is this possible, and if yes, how? I thought about making it as an Imagemap.

Here's a picture for what I somewhat had in mind.
Clipboard01.png

Thanks a lot in advance!! ;o;

Qwxlea
IRC Nick: qwxlea
Github: Qwxlea

Re: Custom In-Game Menus

#2 Post by Qwxlea »

A simple example of an imagemap is FAQ#How_do_I_use_imagemaps.

You would need a bunch of artwork for the phone. The "Image Location Picker", which you can access from the "Developer's menu" in your game (by pressing D), can help you find the correct coordinates.

Roy Crownguard

#3 Post by Roy Crownguard »

Thanks!! If I make it as an Imagemap, can I still add a "phone" button to the navigation bar that takes me to the phone imagemap? I still haven't fully grasped how to "link" these screens so you can go back to the game when exiting it.

wyverngem
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Simple as Snow, Lady Luck's Due,
Projects: Aether Skies, Of the Waterfall
Tumblr: casting-dreams
itch: castingdreams

#4 Post by wyverngem »