Simple Day/Time System?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
CellHG
Regular

Simple Day/Time System?

#1 Post by CellHG »

I'm in need of a little help with something.

I'm by no means an expert with Renpy or Python, I'm very new and still learning the basic's.

iv got a grip on GUI customisation, image maps, money/inventory system and what not, but I don't have a clue how to do this.

I'm basically looking for a day/time system that can be displayed at the top of the screen.

Not IRL day/time, but in-game :P

So, basically it would be on screen and would say like "Tuesday" in 1 box and "16:00" in another, maybe there could be an imagebutton that you click to make time skip 1 hour & also only certain events are triggered at a certain time/day.

Iv searched about but can't really find anything, anyone know of anything in the cookbook?

Milkymalk
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Don't Look (AGS game)
Projects: KANPEKI! ★Perfect Play★
Organization: Crappy White Wings

Re: Simple Day/Time System?

#2 Post by Milkymalk »

Rough step by step:
1. Make tuples consisting of the days of the week and month names with their respective lengths in days.
2. Make a class with the variables hours, minutes, day, month and year, initiate it with any date.
3. Make a method inside that class, passtime(minutes, hours, days), that advances the date. Make the method check for rollover, i.e. minutes > 59, hours > 23, more days than the month has, months > 12, in that order. If that happens, deduct the maximum number (= roll over) and increase the next higher unit by 1.