Error upon start

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Error upon start

#1 Post by Tessiellation » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:54 am

So I've almost finished my game and I get this error, I haven't even touched those files:

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

After initialization, but before game start.
IOError: Couldn't find file 'gui/window_icon.png'.

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\bootstrap.py", line 295, in bootstrap
renpy.main.main()
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\main.py", line 430, in main
renpy.game.script.report_duplicate_labels()
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\script.py", line 890, in report_duplicate_labels
if renpy.parser.report_parse_errors():
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\parser.py", line 2543, in report_parse_errors
renpy.display.error.report_parse_errors(full_text, error_fn)
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\display\error.py", line 168, in report_parse_errors
init_display()
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\display\error.py", line 62, in init_display
renpy.display.core.Interface().start()
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 1686, in start
self.set_mode()
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 1916, in set_mode
if draw.set_mode(virtual_size, physical_size, fullscreen):
File "renpy/gl/gldraw.pyx", line 192, in renpy.gl.gldraw.GLDraw.set_mode (gen\renpy.gl.gldraw.c:2802)
renpy.display.interface.post_init()
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 1717, in post_init
self.set_icon()
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 1748, in set_icon
renpy.loader.load(icon),
File "C:\Users\Terese\Desktop\renpy-6.99.12.4-sdk\renpy\loader.py", line 543, in load
raise IOError("Couldn't find file '%s'." % name)
IOError: Couldn't find file 'gui/window_icon.png'.

Windows-8-6.2.9200
Ren'Py 6.99.12.4.2187
Destiny Bound 1.0

User avatar
Karl_C
Regular
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#2 Post by Karl_C » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:11 am

In Ren'Py launcher:
  • Change/Update GUI
  • Read the warning! (Backup your files)
  • 'Choose new colors...' or 'Regenerate...'

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#3 Post by Tessiellation » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:26 am

It says "Launching the project failed. Please ensure that your project launches normally before running this command." :(

User avatar
Karl_C
Regular
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#4 Post by Karl_C » Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:17 pm

Hm, copy the attached file into 'gui\window_icon.png'
Attachments
window_icon.png
window_icon.png (17.52 KiB) Viewed 654 times

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#5 Post by Tessiellation » Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:27 pm

Sorry, I don't quite follow. Do you mean copy it into the gui of my game, or gui of ren'py? :S
I found the gui of Ren'py, but there's only files like any other game would have..

User avatar
Karl_C
Regular
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#6 Post by Karl_C » Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:32 pm

Copy it into the 'game\gui' folder of your game.

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#7 Post by Tessiellation » Sun Oct 08, 2017 2:04 pm

Ok, I did that, but sadly I get the same error :(

User avatar
Karl_C
Regular
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#8 Post by Karl_C » Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:41 pm

What files and folders are in your 'game\gui' folder now?

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1959
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#9 Post by Imperf3kt » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:48 pm

I sometimes see that error (please check your game runs correctly) when trying to clear persistent data. I don't recall the exact cause but I remember it was some completely unrelated code causing it.

Do you remember what you added since it last worked?
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#10 Post by Tessiellation » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:08 am

1: Everything that was there to begin with

2: I tried removing chunks of coding in my script and it didn't change anything. :( Even at the parts where the game did work.

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#11 Post by Tessiellation » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:26 am

Okay, I tried to make a backup and it seems like it's my "Neutralending" label that's messing it up, I think.

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#12 Post by Tessiellation » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:30 am

or it's my "wait" label :S

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#13 Post by Tessiellation » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:33 am

Odd thing is when I remove it from my backup, both the neutralending and wait label, the game works. Do I do it on my game game, it doesn't do anything...

Tessiellation
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: Error upon start

#14 Post by Tessiellation » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:53 am

It think I figured it out. Somehow. Changed the label names in a new document and now it seems to work :S It's still weird though.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users