[Solved]Menu option error

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
adabella100
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 10:18 am
Contact:

[Solved]Menu option error

#1 Post by adabella100 »

I updated my Ren'Py launcher and re-read the tutorial.But when i wrote a code and launched it ,this error came:

Code: Select all

I'm sorry, but errors were detected in your script. Please correct the
errors listed below, and try again.


File "game/script.rpy", line 16: menu statement expects a non-empty block.
    menu:
        ^

Ren'Py Version: Ren'Py 6.99.13.2919
I was so confused,so i created a new game and copied the text from "Choices and Python" to it as to find out where was the error from.It was good at first,but then i added a line before the menu statement:

Code: Select all

define e = Character("Eileen")
label start:
e"Do you mind?"
    menu:

        "Yes, I do.":
            jump choice1_yes

        "No, I don't.":
            jump choice1_no

    label choice1_yes:

        $ menu_flag = True

        e "While creating a multi-path visual novel can be a bit more work, it can yield a unique experience."

        jump choice1_done

    label choice1_no:

        $ menu_flag = False

        e "Games without menus are called kinetic novels, and there are dozens of them available to play."

        jump choice1_done

    label choice1_done:

 
And the same error was caused.
IDK what to do.Please help.
Last edited by adabella100 on Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jacobjumper
Regular
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:45 pm
Projects: Familiarity
Organization: Airheart
Location: Houston
Contact:

Re: Menu option error

#2 Post by jacobjumper »

It's an indentation issue. Try

Code: Select all

e"Do you mind?"

menu:
	"Yes, I do.":
            jump choice1_yes

	"No, I don't.":
         	jump choice1_no

User avatar
adabella100
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: Menu option error

#3 Post by adabella100 »

jacobjumper wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:44 am It's an indentation issue. Try

Code: Select all

e"Do you mind?"

menu:
	"Yes, I do.":
            jump choice1_yes

	"No, I don't.":
         	jump choice1_no
I tried that one.I even omitted the colon ( : ),yet nothing happened.idk why.

User avatar
mitoky
Veteran
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:12 pm
Projects: The Purring Demon's Love, circus eterie
Contact:

Re: Menu option error

#4 Post by mitoky »

Code: Select all

e"Do you mind?"

    menu:
        "Yes, I do.":
            jump choice1_yes

        "No, I don't.":
            jump choice1_no

User avatar
adabella100
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: Menu option error

#5 Post by adabella100 »

mitoky wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:51 am

Code: Select all

e"Do you mind?"

    menu:
        "Yes, I do.":
            jump choice1_yes

        "No, I don't.":
            jump choice1_no
It is solved now.Thank you so much. :D

User avatar
mitoky
Veteran
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:12 pm
Projects: The Purring Demon's Love, circus eterie
Contact:

Re: Menu option error

#6 Post by mitoky »

adabella100 wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:26 pm
mitoky wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:51 am

Code: Select all

e"Do you mind?"

    menu:
        "Yes, I do.":
            jump choice1_yes

        "No, I don't.":
            jump choice1_no
It is solved now.Thank you so much. :D
No problem (:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Bing [Bot]