[Solved!] Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Ace94
Regular
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:22 pm
Contact:

[Solved!] Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#1 Post by Ace94 »

Hi all. I am trying to speed up an image sequence faster than 0.1. Is this possible?
This is the current code I use:
Also, removing the dissolve doesn't really speed it up, sadly...

Code: Select all

image b_animated:
    "0.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "1.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "2.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "3.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "4.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "5.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "6.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "7.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "8.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "9.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "10.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "11.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "12.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "13.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "14.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    "15.png" with Dissolve(0.5)
    0.1
    repeat
I tried putting a minus in front of 0.1 to speed it up but then it says "ATL appears to be in an infinite loop" It's worth to note that I also use

Code: Select all

$ renpy.pause(12, hard=True)
so that the animation plays for 12 seconds before allowing the player to continue.
Last edited by Ace94 on Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Remix
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1628
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 6:10 am
Completed: None... yet (as I'm still looking for an artist)
Projects: An un-named anime based trainer game
Contact:

Re: Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#2 Post by Remix »

Maybe 0.01
Frameworks & Scriptlets:

Ace94
Regular
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#3 Post by Ace94 »

Remix wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:15 amMaybe 0.01
Nah, I need a lot faster than that, like a -2 or -3 but it doesn't let me do that.

User avatar
Remix
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1628
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 6:10 am
Completed: None... yet (as I'm still looking for an artist)
Projects: An un-named anime based trainer game
Contact:

Re: Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#4 Post by Remix »

The 0.01 is 1/100th of a second pause, negative numbers cannot exist (short of inventing time travel)
Frameworks & Scriptlets:

Ace94
Regular
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#5 Post by Ace94 »

Ooooh nevermind! I just tested 0.01 and it worked great! I just thought that it wouldn't do it as fast as I thought since changing from 0.5 to 0.1 didn't do a huge change.

This absolutely did the job. Thank you a ton Remix!

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3794
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: [Solved!] Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#6 Post by Imperf3kt »

Although not an issue, I would avoid 0.01 and instead use 0.0599400599 or 0.06 (which is about 16ms) because it is the absolute fastest an older 60Hz monitor can display at. (newer models do exactly 60Hz, but older tech was usually 59.940)
60/1.001 = absolute frames per second
Anything faster than this won't be seen and may introduce rounding errors, resulting in screen tearing.
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

Ace94
Regular
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [Solved!] Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#7 Post by Ace94 »

Imperf3kt wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:02 pm Although not an issue, I would avoid 0.01 and instead use 0.0599400599 or 0.06 (which is about 16ms) because it is the absolute fastest an older 60Hz monitor can display at. (newer models do exactly 60Hz, but older tech was usually 59.940)
60/1.001 = absolute frames per second
Anything faster than this won't be seen and may introduce rounding errors, resulting in screen tearing.
That's a really good point. Thanks, I will do that!

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: [Solved!] Increasing the pause/speed in ATL

#8 Post by PyTom »

As of the latest Ren'Py, pause 0 displays for 1 frame.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users