[solved] $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
yawnie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:29 am
Contact:

[solved] $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

#1 Post by yawnie »

Code: Select all

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
  File "renpy/common/00gamemenu.rpy", line 173, in script
    $ ui.interact()
  File "renpy/common/00gamemenu.rpy", line 173, in <module>
    $ ui.interact()
Exception: Required parameter title has no value.

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "renpy/common/00gamemenu.rpy", line 173, in script
    $ ui.interact()
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/ast.py", line 827, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/python.py", line 1764, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "renpy/common/00gamemenu.rpy", line 173, in <module>
    $ ui.interact()
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/ui.py", line 287, in interact
    rv = renpy.game.interface.interact(roll_forward=roll_forward, **kwargs)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/core.py", line 2553, in interact
    repeat, rv = self.interact_core(preloads=preloads, trans_pause=trans_pause, **kwargs)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/core.py", line 2821, in interact_core
    root_widget.visit_all(lambda i : i.per_interact())
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/core.py", line 495, in visit_all
    d.visit_all(callback)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/core.py", line 495, in visit_all
    d.visit_all(callback)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/core.py", line 495, in visit_all
    d.visit_all(callback)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/core.py", line 495, in visit_all
    d.visit_all(callback)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/screen.py", line 401, in visit_all
    callback(self)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/core.py", line 2821, in <lambda>
    root_widget.visit_all(lambda i : i.per_interact())
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/screen.py", line 411, in per_interact
    self.update()
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/display/screen.py", line 580, in update
    self.screen.function(**self.scope)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/ast.py", line 152, in apply_arguments
    return parameters.apply(args, kwargs, ignore_errors)
  File "/Applications/renpy-6.99.13-sdk 2/renpy/ast.py", line 120, in apply
    raise Exception("Required parameter %s has no value." % name)
Exception: Required parameter title has no value.

Darwin-16.7.0-x86_64-i386-64bit
Ren'Py 6.99.13.2919
The IB Simulator 1.0
Hi, so I'm very very new to Ren'Py and python in general. I was trying to combine some rpy files created by someone who used an older version of renpy with the screen.rpy of a new project so that the GUI would look better. This error occurs whenever I press the esc button during the game. I tried to figure it out on my own, but I don't get where and why the error is occuring. Please help! 😢

Thank you in advance!
Last edited by yawnie on Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:52 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
xavimat
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 8:45 pm
Completed: Yeshua, Jesus Life, Cops&Robbers
Projects: Fear&Love
Organization: Pilgrim Creations
Github: xavi-mat
itch: pilgrimcreations
Location: Spain
Discord: xavimat
Contact:

Re: $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

#2 Post by xavimat »

We need to see your code, not only the traceback.
I would advise against mixing old code with the new GUI, lots of things have changed.
Also, if you are new to RenPy, probably you should start with more simple projects, and build more complex ones after all the basic stuff is clear.
Comunidad Ren'Py en español: ¡Únete a nuestro Discord!
Rhaier Kingdom A Ren'Py Multiplayer Adventure Visual Novel.
Cops&Robbers A two-player experiment | Fear&Love Why can't we say I love you?
Honest Critique (Avatar made with Chibi Maker by ~gen8)

yawnie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

#3 Post by yawnie »

Sorry, I had no idea where the error was occurring, so I couldn't post the code here. :( I usually take my time learning new stuff but it's a school project (kind of) so I thought I would just learn as I go... which obviously was a bad decision. I guess I'll just have to try again!

verysunshine
Veteran
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:03 pm
Organization: Wild Rose Interactive
Contact:

Re: $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

#4 Post by verysunshine »

Did you change anything in the UI? If so, what?

I might not be able to help solve the problem, but I can help narrow down where the problem is.

Build the basics first, then add all the fun bits.

Please check out my games on my itch.io page!

yawnie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

#5 Post by yawnie »

verysunshine wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:39 pm Did you change anything in the UI? If so, what?

I might not be able to help solve the problem, but I can help narrow down where the problem is.
Thank you so much for trying to help! Unfortunately, I just started a new project... XD I think I'll start with stuff for beginners instead of trying to tackle a huge project from the start. But thank you though!

User avatar
trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3712
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:33 pm
Projects: A Close Shave
Location: Medford, MA
Contact:

Re: [solved] $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

#6 Post by trooper6 »

My other advice is that you don't use old code. Make sure you are focusing on the new documentation.
A Close Shave:
*Last Thing Done (Aug 17): Finished coding emotions and camera for 4/10 main labels.
*Currently Doing: Coding of emotions and camera for the labels--On 5/10
*First Next thing to do: Code in all CG and special animation stuff
*Next Next thing to do: Set up film animation
*Other Thing to Do: Do SFX and Score (maybe think about eye blinks?)
Check out My Clock Cookbook Recipe: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 51&t=21978

verysunshine
Veteran
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:03 pm
Organization: Wild Rose Interactive
Contact:

Re: $ui.interact() Required Parameter Has No Value?

#7 Post by verysunshine »

yawnie wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:51 am
verysunshine wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:39 pm Did you change anything in the UI? If so, what?

I might not be able to help solve the problem, but I can help narrow down where the problem is.
Thank you so much for trying to help! Unfortunately, I just started a new project... XD I think I'll start with stuff for beginners instead of trying to tackle a huge project from the start. But thank you though!
What code did you copy? Old code from the cookbook can cause conflicts with newer versions.

By default, the escape key brings up the save menu. We'd need to see the save screen code.

Build the basics first, then add all the fun bits.

Please check out my games on my itch.io page!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users