Manual Key Binding to Variables/Show Image

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Foray

Manual Key Binding to Variables/Show Image

#1 Post by Foray »

I'm afraid I'm a complete novice with Ren'Py and Python code, so I apologize in advance for any confusing vocabulary or oversights.

I am currently trying to assign keyboard keys to specific actions. I've managed to bind keys to jump to specific scenes, but other commands that I can enter normally (or make follow from standard "menu" buttons) return errors following the key assignment. To be more specific, I wish to make a key trigger a temporary show event (~1 second) as well as modify a variable counter.

In the sample code below, the "W" key functions as assigned. The middle three keys return errors, saying: "expected a keyword argument, colon, or end of line."
The game will launch with the final key ("F"), but if the key is pressed, the game will crash, returning an error that "Screen Hikage 1 is not known."

Code: Select all

image Hikage 1 = "Hikage.png"
    $ hikage_pt = 10

screen actionkeys:
     key "K_w" action Jump ("start.mirailand")
     key "K_a" action $ hikage_pt -= 1
     key "K_s" action $ hikage_pt -= 5
     key "K_d" action hikage_pt += 5
     key "K_f" action show ("Hikage 1")