Question about a menu with multiple pages

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Suu
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:53 pm
Contact:

Question about a menu with multiple pages

#1 Post by Suu »

Hello, I have a question about making a dynamic menu that spans more than one page.
This is our example menu;

Code: Select all

menu:
	"choice1:
		bla
	"choice2:
		bla
	"choice3:
		bla
	"choice4:
		bla
	"next page":
		bla
	"return to main menu":
		bla
And imagine that all the choices have a condition that makes them appear. I want this menu to be limited to 6 choices, and always keep that number unless the next page is empty. So, when choice 3 disappears due to conditions and it becomes unclickable, user will see

Code: Select all

choice1
choice2
choice4
next page
return to main menu
As options. However I want the topmost option from the next page, that is choice5 to appear visible here to keep the amount of options at 6.
So it should become

Code: Select all

choice1
choice2
choice4
choice5
next page
return to main menu
Any ideas on how I can do this? I'm really stuck here

User avatar
Empish
Veteran
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:52 pm
Projects: Efemural Hearts, It Ends With Graduation
itch: empish
Contact:

Re: Question about a menu with multiple pages

#2 Post by Empish »

To me, it looks like you would need to modify the choice screen in screens.rpy to get your desired behavior. How familiar are you with screen language?

Suu
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about a menu with multiple pages

#3 Post by Suu »

Not at all, I'm completely new to ren'py
But if that's where I need to make modifications on I'll take my time to get familiar with it

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alex, Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot]