[Solved] Show buttons only with dialogue windows

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
CyDementia
Regular

[Solved] Show buttons only with dialogue windows

#1 Post by CyDementia »

Hello guys. The question is quick to ask but seems hard to resolve (because I couldn't find that info anywhere for a long time).
Question: how to show buttons (q.save, skip etc. default buttons) only when dialogue window is shown (ADV and NVL too). For now they are shown all the time and I don't like it very much. I'm very new to this so please include as much info as you can.
Last edited by CyDementia on Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

philat
Eileen-Class Veteran

Re: Show buttons only with dialogue windows

#2 Post by philat »

I'm confused. I'm pretty sure those buttons are already only shown when the dialogue window is shown -- the dialogue window is just shown nearly all the time.

CyDementia
Regular

#3 Post by CyDementia »

philat wrote: Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:35 pm I'm confused. I'm pretty sure those buttons are already only shown when the dialogue window is shown -- the dialogue window is just shown nearly all the time.
They are really shown all the time. And there is one thing that amazes me most of all else: they are dissolving along with the scene dissolving (at least it's individual case in the very beginning of the game, because it starts with dissolving scene). This case makes it look like this default buttons are hardcoded into all "scene" statements. If I remove "with Dissolve()" from this first scene, they don't dissolve with it :)

Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
itch: Imperf3kt