[SOLVED] Imagemap Alpha Issue

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
guiltyGG

[SOLVED] Imagemap Alpha Issue

#1 Post by guiltyGG »

I have an imagemap that uses partially transparent PNGs, but the hotspot rectangles are being drawn onto the imagemap in some almost bit-wise AND/OR fashion (that's kinda what they look like; the resulting image isn't one or the other, but a blend that isn't a direct overlay).

I probably should be using imagebuttons for this quick_menu replacement on top of a normal alpha image, but imagemaps are less work and easier to maintain later on. But, I'm still learning, so could be wrong on all counts.

(the large image is rendered in Ren'Py, but I added 'idle/hovered' captions / cleaned the layout with GIMP)

Ren'Py version: 6.99.13.2919

Idle:

Hover:

Code: Select all

screen test:
    #idle
    add "images/im-issue_idle.png" xpos 10 ypos 10

#hover
    add "images/im-issue_hover.png" xpos 200 ypos 10

#overlay
    add "images/im-issue_idle.png" xpos 400 ypos 10
    add "images/im-issue_hover.png" xpos 400 ypos 10    

#captions
    text "Idle" xpos 10 ypos 230
    text "Hover" xpos 200 ypos 230
    text "Overlay" xpos 400 ypos 230

imagemap:
        xalign 0.5 yalign 0.5
        auto "images/im-issue_%s.png"
        hotspot (20, 80, 132, 52) action NullAction()

image bg = Solid('#000')

label start:
    scene bg
    call screen test()
    return
Last edited by guiltyGG on Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

Re: Imagemap Alpha Issue