Optimal Implementation of Animated Character Sprites

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Loutanina
Deviantart: Loutanina

Optimal Implementation of Animated Character Sprites

#1 Post by Loutanina »

Hi all, I'm currently working on my first Ren'Py game, I first tried Tyranobuilder but after my UI drastically and annoyingly changed after an update I decided the engine wasn't too stable and switched to Ren'Py. As you can imagine, I'm a noob when it comes to coding, my main focus is art and story.
So I have these sprites:
Image Image
(annnnd I've noticed some things I need to clean up)

As you can see my character has various different states:
- Braided vs. loose hair
- Sweater vs. Nightgown
- Beatup vs. Alright

Now based on how the image's layers originally work, I made four bases:
- Sweater with Braids
- Sweater with Loose Hair
- and the same with the Nightgown

And I cut up all eyebrows, eyes, and mouths based on this tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/embed/08HKfXMr1kY

How do I go about switching between the four different bases? I can't just have two true or false statements about the same body part, right?
Plus, how do I go about switching between the bruised eye and the non-bruised eye most efficiently? Do I make individual folders for "HappyBruised" "SideglanceBruised", etc. etc?