[SOLVED] config.say_attribute_transition and 2 Characters, 1 Sprite Bug?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:33 pm
Projects: A Close Shave
Location: Medford, MA
Contact:

[SOLVED] config.say_attribute_transition and 2 Characters, 1 Sprite Bug?

#1 Post by trooper6 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:23 am

Is this a bug or is this intended?

I have two characters that share the same sprite. That is no problem.
I can have the two different characters using the same sprite use say attributes and all is seamless...
unless I have define config.say_attribute_transition = dissolve enabled.

When I have that enabled and use say attributes, then not only do the emotions dissolve (which is good), but the name/textbox also dissolves (which I don't want).

Is this a bug or intended? Is there a way to have the the say_attributes transition the sprite, without transitioning the textbox?
Last edited by trooper6 on Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
A Close Shave:
*Last Thing Done (Aug 17): Finished coding emotions and camera for 4/10 main labels.
*Currently Doing: Coding of emotions and camera for the labels--On 5/10
*First Next thing to do: Code in all CG and special animation stuff
*Next Next thing to do: Set up film animation
*Other Thing to Do: Do SFX and Score (maybe think about eye blinks?)
Check out My Clock Cookbook Recipe: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 51&t=21978

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 15252
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: config.say_attribute_transition and 2 Characters, 1 Sprite Bug?

#2 Post by PyTom » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:09 am

It's always been doing this, you probably just never noticed. If you want this, maybe use a dict transition on the master layer.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
"Silly and fun things are important." - Elon Musk
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:33 pm
Projects: A Close Shave
Location: Medford, MA
Contact:

Re: config.say_attribute_transition and 2 Characters, 1 Sprite Bug?

#3 Post by trooper6 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:19 am

That did the trick, thanks PyTom!
A Close Shave:
*Last Thing Done (Aug 17): Finished coding emotions and camera for 4/10 main labels.
*Currently Doing: Coding of emotions and camera for the labels--On 5/10
*First Next thing to do: Code in all CG and special animation stuff
*Next Next thing to do: Set up film animation
*Other Thing to Do: Do SFX and Score (maybe think about eye blinks?)
Check out My Clock Cookbook Recipe: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto ... 51&t=21978

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jackkel Dragon, Majestic-12 [Bot]