Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
017Bluefield
Regular
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:55 am
Projects: Project Bluefield - Origins
Organization: Autumn Rain
Deviantart: playerzero17
itch: autumn-rain
Contact:

Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

#1 Post by 017Bluefield »

So the subject of ATL Transitions has already been covered, but I'm curious about something else: putting an existing transition, such as an ImageDissolve() or Dissolve(), into a block of ATL. I'm asking because I'm trying to animate a screen, which doesn't take transitions directly, with an ImageDissolve() on multiple elements.

Code: Select all

        hbox:
            spacing 0
            text "Main Subsystem: " at pop_in(2) style "wall4_rcst_size_21"
            text "{b}Active{/b}" at pop_in(4) style "wall4_rcst_size_21"
            text "\n" at pop_in(4) style "wall4_rcst_size_21"
...
transform pop_in(delay):
    alpha 0.0
    pause delay
    alpha 1.0
The above ATL is close enough to the effect I need. When the screen is shown, each pop_in() hides its corresponding text element, then pops it into view at delay.

Is it possible to use an ImageDissolve() or Dissolve() in an ATL block? Or is it not possible? Or, is there a different way to handle this?

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

#2 Post by Kia »

try:

Code: Select all

transform pop_in(delay):
    alpha 0.0
    pause delay
    linear 1 alpha 1.0

017Bluefield
Regular
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:55 am
Projects: Project Bluefield - Origins
Organization: Autumn Rain
Deviantart: playerzero17
itch: autumn-rain
Contact:

Re: Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

#3 Post by 017Bluefield »

Kia wrote: Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:56 am try:

Code: Select all

transform pop_in(delay):
    alpha 0.0
    pause delay
    linear 1 alpha 1.0
Can this be fitted with an ImageDissolve() instead?

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

#4 Post by Kia »

if all you need is the fade in effect you don't need an ImageDissolve, all you need is that simple transform.

017Bluefield
Regular
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:55 am
Projects: Project Bluefield - Origins
Organization: Autumn Rain
Deviantart: playerzero17
itch: autumn-rain
Contact:

Re: Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

#5 Post by 017Bluefield »

No, I do need the ImageDissolve part.

User avatar
Kia
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:49 am
Deviantart: KiaAzad
Discord: Kia#6810
Contact:

Re: Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

#6 Post by Kia »

I don't think ImageDissolve can be used inside screens

017Bluefield
Regular
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:55 am
Projects: Project Bluefield - Origins
Organization: Autumn Rain
Deviantart: playerzero17
itch: autumn-rain
Contact:

Re: Putting existing transitions into an ATL block?

#7 Post by 017Bluefield »

So to be clear: ImageDissolve() works with scenes and character sprites, but not within screens/elements in a screen?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users