Hover Quick Menu

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Godline
Veteran
Posts: 494
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:26 am
Completed: numerous
Tumblr: godlinegames
Deviantart: godline-games
itch: godline
Contact:

Hover Quick Menu

#1 Post by Godline » Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:54 pm

Hey,
almost figured it out.

It doesn't close on 'hover' though. It has to be clicked. So if anyone knows a workaround for that please post and help.

This is how Sayumi101 figured it out:


screen quick_menu():
imagebutton idle "gui/shell close.png" hover "gui/shell open.png" selected_hover "gui/shell open.png" selected_idle "gui/shell open.png" xpos 1095 ypos 450 focus_mask True hovered ShowTransient ("togglemenu") clicked ShowTransient ("togglemenu")

screen togglemenu():

add "gui/shell open.png" xpos 1095 ypos 450

imagemap:
alpha False
xpos 1095
ypos 450
ground "gui/shell menu.png"
hover "gui/shell menu hov.png"
#idle "gui/shell menu hov.png"
#selected_idle "gui/shell menu hov.png"

hotspot (67, 26, 68, 38) action Skip(),Hide("togglemenu")
hotspot (69, 64, 65, 33) action Preference("auto-forward", "toggle"),Hide("togglemenu")
hotspot (62, 102, 76, 37) action ShowMenu("preferences"),Hide("togglemenu")
Last edited by Godline on Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:52 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
IaMe
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:27 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Hover Quick Menu

#2 Post by IaMe » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:58 am

If someone else doesn't come along with a better solution - couldn't you just duplicate your shell open and merge the words onto them, so your image and text would be one? then you'd only have three images your shell closed plus the idle and hover which may make it work? hopefully that makes some sort of sense :? :oops: or somebody else can come along and offer a better solution for you :)
The Website for my game's development
http://fallingheartsotomegame.tumblr.com/

User avatar
Godline
Veteran
Posts: 494
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:26 am
Completed: numerous
Tumblr: godlinegames
Deviantart: godline-games
itch: godline
Contact:

Re: Hover Quick Menu

#3 Post by Godline » Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:36 am

Yeah, I did play around with that. But I still didn't get it working. Bah!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], hell_oh_world, MaydohMaydoh