Simple battle system and item drops

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
nerupuff
Veteran

Simple battle system and item drops

#1 Post by nerupuff »

Hi all. It's actually my first time posting in this subforum.

I've so far only coded a generic VN with just the branching paths and points system for romance routes. Now, I'm looking for help to make a simple battle system. I know that Sheepstorm (in the Ren'Py cookbook) exists, but it's a bit too complicated for my needs, and I'm not a good programmer to understand what needs to be done yet (I only know basic Ren'Py! :c)

What I was thinking of is having a choice that asks "Do you want to fight?"and choosing to say yes sends you to a screen that just has one "choice button" which is to "hit/attack". You see your enemy, and they have a health bar displayed. You would have one too. It would be turn-based in action, and the damage is random. Once the enemy is defeated, you get an item drop.

I don't know if there's any code for this, so if you can share yours or if you can point me in the right direction, I'd appreciate it!

tl;dr: need battle system with simple hit mechanic, random amount of damage, and item drops + inventory
ImageImage
Hire me for proofreading, editing, and (maybe) writing! ♡ Check here!

DannX
Regular

Re: Simple battle system and item drops

#2 Post by DannX »

I just made a really simple battle system, it's pretty basic but it hopefully gives you a start:

Code: Select all

default hero_hp = 100
default enemy_hp = 100
default damage = 0

default player_turn = False
default enemy_turn = False

screen battle_hud():

frame: