hovermap with changing images

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
flo617

hovermap with changing images

#1 Post by flo617 »

Hello,

I am very new at renpy and I am trying to create scenes that change with the time of day along with a map on each scene that allows the player to navigate from a part of a town to another in a first person style.

For example, one scene is a train station and has up to four representations: dawn, dusk, day and night. From there the player can go to main street or enter the hotel across the street.

Here are two of these images:
bg trainstation day.jpg
bg trainstation night.jpg

Now that works very well in my code. The image gets picked depending on the time of the day. However when I hover over a "gate" to another part of the town. I will get this on the first hover:
grmbl.png
Notice that the scene is dawn as it should be here. But the hotspots are still displayed with the night image. After the first hover everything gets back to normal and the image is good again. Currently I am using the same image for the "hover" and the "ground" and it might stay that way.

-Is there a way to assign a null image to the "hover" or a blank fully transparent one that will not need to be updated?
-Is this cache related and if so can that hover be pushed out of the cache in any way?
-any other suggestion to fix this?

Here's the code:

Code: Select all

screen trainstation_map:
    #default tt = Tooltip("No button selected.")
    default map_info = ""
    imagemap: 
        ground "bg trainstation [dayperiod].jpg"
        hover "bg trainstation [dayperiod].jpg"