How to change Relation of characters?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Nikois

How to change Relation of characters?

#1 Post by Nikois »

hello, I am a rookie in coding and I usually end up getting help from the forum by searching but this time I can't find code for changing relation with someone. I need help desperately,
I want to let people change relation with characters as they are introduced in story. for Example I have introduced Jake in my Novel, but a player wants "Jake" to be his friend but the default is brother. What code do I use?

its similar to changing name
So I used this but didnt work.
$ name = renpy.input("Please enter your Name")
$ name = name.strip()

Thank you.

Per K Grok
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: the Ghost Pilot, Sea of Lost Ships, Bubbles and the Pterodactyls, Defenders of Adacan Part 1-3, the Phantom Flyer
itch: per-k-grok

Re: How to change Relation of characters?

#2 Post by Per K Grok »

Nikois wrote: Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:13 am hello, I am a rookie in coding and I usually end up getting help from the forum by searching but this time I can't find code for changing relation with someone. I need help desperately,
I want to let people change relation with characters as they are introduced in story. for Example I have introduced Jake in my Novel, but a player wants "Jake" to be his friend but the default is brother. What code do I use?

$ name = name.strip()

Thank you.

You could use an input function, but a problem would be that the player could write any number of things and that would be hard to handle.