Help with my code

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Lilly

Help with my code

#1 Post by Lilly »

Hi, this is my first post here. I am currently learning Ren'Py. I am a newbie to code, I don't know any programming language... So I am kind of messing around with Ren'Py script and figuring things out as I go for now.

Anyway, I wanted to run a little test on conditional statements. Basically a little "open the chest" game, where you open the chest, get the item inside, and then once you've gotten it once, the chest becomes empty, and you can either "proceed with the mission" or open the chest again. But I would also like to add a mechanic where Eileen gets tired of opening it for you, and warns you that if you keep making her open the chest the game will end. So I thought of adding a counter, like, Eileen opens the chest; +1 point , when 6 points are reached she tells you she's tired but she'll keep opening it, and then when 10 points are reached she tells you she got exhausted and the game ends.

I have been breaking my head over the code but due to my inexperience I can't make it work. I'd be highly grateful if anyone could help!
Here's the code:

define e = Character("Eileen")

init $ count = 0

default item = False

label start:

scene bg room

show eileen happy

e "Welcome to treasure chest!"
e "Once you've got the item, and double checked the chest, we can procceed with our mission."
e "Or, you can keep opening the chest forever if you'd like!"
e "Let's play!"

jump chest

label chest:

e "There's a treasure chest here. {p}Should I open it?"

menu:

"Yes, open it.":

if item: