[Solved] Translating text in screens

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
ComputerArt.Club
Veteran
Completed: Famous Fables, BoPoMoFo: Learn Chinese, Santa's workshop, Cat's Bath, Computer Art Club

[Solved] Translating text in screens

#1 Post by ComputerArt.Club »

So I am just beginning my first translation attempt of one of my games and I have come across a problem. When generating translation files Renpy does not see the text inside my custom screens. Here is an example from a game:

Code: Select all

screen quiz_p3b:
        use quiz_t3 id "quiz_t3"
        text "English English English English?" xalign 0.5 yalign 0.03            
These text blobs, which I have long known not to be exported when exporting the game dialog, also don't get exported in the screens.rpy translation files.

Is there a way for me to manually refer to the location?

Thanks for taking the time to read this!
Last edited by ComputerArt.Club on Sat Apr 20, 2019 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Remix
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: None... yet (as I'm still looking for an artist)
Projects: An un-named anime based trainer game

Re: Translating text in screens

#2 Post by Remix »

text _("English")

The _() function basically tells Ren'Py to register the string as translatable, so it will add it to the relevant translation file when asked.
Frameworks & Scriptlets:

ComputerArt.Club
Veteran
Completed: Famous Fables, BoPoMoFo: Learn Chinese, Santa's workshop, Cat's Bath, Computer Art Club

Re: Translating text in screens

#3 Post by ComputerArt.Club »

Remix wrote: Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:23 pm text _("English")