Question About Best Approach to Character Creation

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
raynetempura

Question About Best Approach to Character Creation

#1 Post by raynetempura »

Hello! I am new to Ren'py and making visual novels, but I am trying to learn. I am making a psychological horror/suspense sci-fi visual novel about a crew of Responders who stumble upon what appears to be a derelict alien ship and investigate it.

I really want to be able to give the player as much character customization as possible, but my biggest questions concern what is feasible so I know what instructions to give my artist. I am quite sure I am probably overreaching for my first project, but I got very excited and am really striving for quality, so I was wondering what was the best approach to a character creator. I've been reading through as much information as I can, but some of it is very confusing.

From what I can tell, I need to create a LiveComposite of all the parts to convey the various poses and expressions for all the various characters, but how does one do this with a character creator to make the base composite from which other composites will be built off of?