Modified Phone Msg With Menu

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
margaretcatter
Regular
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 7:16 pm
Projects: Kathelm Princess X Princess | Hurricane Like Me
itch: margaretcatter
Location: New York/LA
Contact:

Modified Phone Msg With Menu

#1 Post by margaretcatter »

I'm using this example code viewtopic.php?t=40245 and modified it some. I'm got the phone part to work but when I try to introduce menu's it freaks out and throws an error (https://gist.github.com/MargaretCatter/ ... 29383cf835) at me that it can't find a certain label when is definitely present and spelled correctly which means that what the error I'm getting isn't actually what is wrong but since I'm not getting a proper error message I don't know what to fix.

https://gist.github.com/MargaretCatter/ ... ec1b6d3d1e <- This is the In Script Phone Code & this is the code for the phone https://gist.github.com/MargaretCatter/ ... a47d515500 <- I got the menu to show up but they're in the wrong place

Its supposed to in theory look like how it is in the attached image. Any help would be appreciated.
Attachments
[JPG] Phone Choice.jpg

User avatar
Enchant00
Regular
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:17 am
Contact:

Re: Modified Phone Msg With Menu

#2 Post by Enchant00 »

Hmm I can't seem to find the problem. Under label jump detailed, what block of code are you running? The error could possibly be there instead.

User avatar
isobellesophia
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:55 am
Completed: None
Projects: Maddox and Friends! (AI Teacher friend), Friendly Universities! (Soon)
Organization: Friendly Teachers series
Deviantart: SophBelle
itch: Child Creation
Location: Philippines, Mindanao
Contact:

Re: Modified Phone Msg With Menu

#3 Post by isobellesophia »

For me, why do you call a screen from a label?

Like this one.

Code: Select all

label txt_msg: 
   $ renpy.pause() 
   hide screen txt_msg 
   $ renpy.pause(0.1) 
   return
It seems kinda suspicious to me. Were you trying to hide a label?

What about if you replace as a screen instead?
Just give it a try.
I am a friendly user, please respect and have a good day.


Image

Image


User avatar
margaretcatter
Regular
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 7:16 pm
Projects: Kathelm Princess X Princess | Hurricane Like Me
itch: margaretcatter
Location: New York/LA
Contact:

Re: Modified Phone Msg With Menu

#4 Post by margaretcatter »

Enchant00 wrote: Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:21 am Hmm I can't seem to find the problem. Under label jump detailed, what block of code are you running? The error could possibly be there instead.

Code: Select all

label txt_after_menu:
    hide screen txt_msg
    hide screen txt_msg2
    hide screen txt_msg3
    hide screen txt_msg1
    $ renpy.pause(0.1)
    return
Is what it jumps too which just puts the phone away

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MisterPinetree