Making a Quick Time Event Battle-Like System?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
plulovi
Regular
Projects: Hell's Phone Number

Making a Quick Time Event Battle-Like System?

#1 Post by plulovi »

Hello guys. I wanted to ask a few questions about quick time events being possible in ren'py.

Before I start, I have already looked at this topic viewtopic.php?t=50766 which, since I'm still learning ren'py, was a bit confusing for me to look at.

To be more specific about what I'm trying to achieve, I want to be able to have a battle system which will use a different looking layout than the normal VN interface (because it's for battle cutscenes). I'm not so much worried about how that's going to look, and I'm more focused on the actual button-pressing battle things.

So for these battles, I want it so that the player will have to press certain buttons on their keyboard in order to block incoming attacks, and pass a wave of attacks. The keys I would like to use are the up, down, left, and right arrows on the keyboard (or w, a, s, d). If they successfully pass the first wave, there will be a player menu choice with different things they can say to try and pacify the target (pacifying will reduce the target's health), and then onto the next wave of attacks, repeat process with a new button pressing pattern, etc. Some word choices will do a greater number on the enemy than others.

Also, for every wave of attacks passed, the speed in which the player must press the buttons will increase slightly (if that's possible).