[ Solved ]First frame of animation stays in background

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thomas_oak
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:28 am
Contact:

[ Solved ]First frame of animation stays in background

#1 Post by thomas_oak » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:45 pm

I have a repeating animation which is leaving the first frame permanently behind the image. It is such a simple piece of code that I am quite stumped as to what might be causing it.

Code: Select all

image william_animation:
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_01.png"
    0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_02.png"
    0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_03.png"
    .
    .
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_32.png"
    0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_33.png"
    0.1
    repeat    
    

Code: Select all

    scene black
    show william_animation with Dissolve(2.0)
Have I always been doing something wrong and just not noticed it before?
Last edited by thomas_oak on Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
isobellesophia
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:55 am
Projects: Maddox's Everyday Talk! (13+ Unreal version), Maddox Everyday Talk! (3+ Real-Friendly version)(Upcoming 2020)
Organization: Friendly Teachers series
itch: .......
Location: Philippines, Mindanao
Contact:

Re: First frame of animation stays in background

#2 Post by isobellesophia » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:50 pm

thomas_oak wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:45 pm
I have a repeating animation which is leaving the first frame permanently behind the image. It is such a simple piece of code that I am quite stumped as to what might be causing it.

Code: Select all

image william_animation:
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_01.png"
    0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_02.png"
    0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_03.png"
    .
    .
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_32.png"
    0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_33.png"
    0.1
    repeat    
    

Code: Select all

    scene black
    show william_animation with Dissolve(2.0)
Have I always been doing something wrong and just not noticed it before?
How about like this? Im not good at ATL's.

Code: Select all

image william_animation:
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_01.png"
    pause 0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_02.png"
    pause 0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_03.png"
    pause 0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_32.png"
    pause 0.1
    "william_anim1/will_anim1_33.png"
    pause 0.1
    repeat    
    
Or

Code: Select all

image william_animation:
    "will_anim1_01.png"
    pause 0.1
    "will_anim1_02.png"
    pause 0.1
    "will_anim1_03.png"
    pause 0.1
    "will_anim1_32.png"
    pause 0.1
    "will_anim1_33.png"
    pause 0.1
    repeat    
    

Code: Select all

label start:
    scene black
    show william_animation with dissolve
I am a friendly user, please respect and have a good day..


Working on a talking simulation game for everyone, except children.

Maddox Everyday Talk!
Is my very very main project, not contain 13 below.

Main project here viewtopic.php?f=43&t=56564
Image

thomas_oak
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: First frame of animation stays in background

#3 Post by thomas_oak » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:55 pm

Unfortunately it is just the same. Thank you though

User avatar
isobellesophia
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:55 am
Projects: Maddox's Everyday Talk! (13+ Unreal version), Maddox Everyday Talk! (3+ Real-Friendly version)(Upcoming 2020)
Organization: Friendly Teachers series
itch: .......
Location: Philippines, Mindanao
Contact:

Re: First frame of animation stays in background

#4 Post by isobellesophia » Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:01 pm

thomas_oak wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:55 pm
Unfortunately it is just the same. Thank you though
Maybe this will help you..

viewtopic.php?t=16604#p216356
I am a friendly user, please respect and have a good day..


Working on a talking simulation game for everyone, except children.

Maddox Everyday Talk!
Is my very very main project, not contain 13 below.

Main project here viewtopic.php?f=43&t=56564
Image

User avatar
papillon
Arbiter of the Internets
Posts: 4038
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 4:37 am
Completed: lots; see website!
Projects: that magical diary sequel, that vampire-raising game
Organization: Hanako Games
Tumblr: hanakogames
Contact:

Re: First frame of animation stays in background

#5 Post by papillon » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:08 pm

2.0 is a fairly slow dissolve. Do you still get strange behavior if you don't have a dissolve involved?

A random bit of graphic being stuck in many engines happens because you haven't properly cleared the background first. Is 'black' correctly defined?

(Don't take my suggestions as super expert coder advice, I spend most of my time writing text and forget half the code when I'm not actively working on it, so while I can usually figure things out if I have the actual code right in front of me to tinker with, I can still miss the obvious when I'm staring at a code snippet!)

thomas_oak
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: First frame of animation stays in background

#6 Post by thomas_oak » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:25 pm

Thanks Papillion

After four hours of going mad with this, I finally worked out what was causing it. And I feel stupid. I had postworked all 33 frames to remove blemishes and was working close up. I didn't realise I had frame 1 as a layer behind all the images. So I was frantically trying to find out why it was happening and it was actually there in the images themselves. What a waste of time. :lol:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Imperf3kt