Questions about SnowBlossom and how to optimize it? (Solved)

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
DarkChibiShadow
Regular
Completed: Tomai (BxB), Disaster Log C (GxG), One-Eyed Lee P.1 (Point-and-click)
Projects: Solanaceae: After All
Tumblr: dcsart
Deviantart: DarkChibiShadow
itch: darkchibishadow

Questions about SnowBlossom and how to optimize it? (Solved)

#1 Post by DarkChibiShadow »

Hey there!

This is my first time ever posting in the Ren'py Questions section of this forum, so hopefully what I write will make sense and be clear.
I'm an amateur coder who has finished 5+ games in Ren'py, and I like to use very simple coding to get stuff done, I don't really need many bells and whistles to accomplish what I want, especially since most of my games are kinetic novels/limited choice games.

That said, I do focus quite a lot on visuals, which has me using SnowBlossom more and more as well as custom transforms.

On to the specifics of the problems I'm having!

Firstly, Snowblossom shows behind images when I want it to show on top of images. (But I don't want it to show in front of busts!)
Specifically it shows on top of images that are "clickable" like a house or door you can click to enter a new area to explore.

Here's the code I'm currently using for most of my SnowBlossom effects (this is located in my first script file):

Code: Select all

image snowing:
    contains:
        SnowBlossom(("snow1"), count=20, border=100, xspeed=(40, 50), yspeed=(70, 100), start=5, fast=False, horizontal=False)
    contains: