[SOLVED] Display inventory screen - modal overrided by screen "say" when interacted with

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Arphedia

[SOLVED] Display inventory screen - modal overrided by screen "say" when interacted with

#1 Post by Arphedia »

Hello everyone !
I do hope you're having a great day :)

I know you've read this a lot, but I'm a newbie whith Renpy :lol:
I started to make a RPG-like Visual Novel a month ago and even if I have resolved a lot of my issues thanks to your posts, there's still one problem I can not seem to be able to bypass ^^'

So I created some classes : Player, Item and Inventory to start my Inventory system, and I coded a screen (highly inspired by Leon's one ! Thanks a lot Leon !!) to display the inventory.

First of all, let me show you how I built my classes, so you'd be able to understand the following code !
Here's the declaration of my Player class:

Code: Select all

class Player(renpy.store.object):
        def __init__(self, name, gender="m", level=1, max_hp=10, max_mp=5):
            self.name = name
            self.gender = gender
            self.level = level
            self.max_hp = max_hp
            self.hp = max_hp
            self.max_mp = max_mp
            self.mp = max_mp
            self.inventory = Inventory(25) #25 represents the amount of gold the player posses at the label start

Now, here's the declaration of my Item class:

class Item(store.object):
    def __init__(self, name, hp=0, mp=0, image="", cost=0, type="divers", consommable=True, essential=False):
        self.name = name
        self.hp = hp # How much hp gain ?