Trouble with Time/Day Class

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
BM90

Trouble with Time/Day Class

#1 Post by BM90 »

I'm having creating a simple class to control the in game time and day. I'm very new to using classes, but I've watched some tutorials and looked over some examples to get a basic understanding. I feel like most of this is correct, but unfortunately I still get the following error message upon starting the game: name 'time' is not defined. I've tried lots of small tweaks and compared it against some examples, but with no luck. Can someone please explain what I've done wrong with this. I feel like it's probably something very simple that I just don't understand yet.

Code: Select all

init python:
    class Time(object):
        def __init__(self, tod, day):
            self.tod = tod
            self.day = day

def adv_time(self):
            self.tod += 1
            if self.tod > 4:
                self.tod = 1
                self.day += 1
                if self.day > 7:
                    self.day = 1

label start:
    $ tod = 1
    $ day = 1
    jump test_label

label test_label:
    call screen test_screen
    return

screen test_screen:
    text "{b}[tod]{/b}" xalign 0.5 yalign 0.45
    text "{b}[day]{/b}" xalign 0.5 yalign 0.55
    textbutton "{b}ADVANCE TIME{/b}":
        xalign 0.5 
        yalign 0.3
        action Function(time.adv_time)

Per K Grok
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: the Ghost Pilot, Sea of Lost Ships, Bubbles and the Pterodactyls, Defenders of Adacan Part 1-3, the Phantom Flyer
itch: per-k-grok

Re: Trouble with Time/Day Class

#2 Post by Per K Grok »