How to store a bunch of different InputValues efficiently?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
GalArt

How to store a bunch of different InputValues efficiently?

#1 Post by GalArt »

Hi!
I'm very new to python and renpy, but what I can find on this issue is either to basic or I don't know what to search for. Anyway, my problem is:

- I have a bunch of variables to store character information in.
- ...for multiple characters
- I would like to show those on a screen, where you can also modify these informations.

I got so far to show them on a screen and have the information as buttons with "input"-displayable like this:
screenshot0008.png
So you can select the person on the left and my programm takes all the information about this character out of the Characters[][][] list and fills the "form" with it.
Then you can click on those entries (buttons on the right side) to modify them. I have this input as a local variable "characters_0_1", but how do I get this input back into my list? Or maybe a field or something.

As far as I understand it, you can't use the SetVariable-action, because you can't access the individual list items with beeing forced to put the list in quotation marks.
And I have to use some kind of list or field (i don't know fields), because I don't know how else I could access a set of variables in a context sensitive manner (with "person x" beeing the context and "information 1 to y" being the set of variables.)

a cropped down version of my code, which shows only the necessary stuff:

Code: Select all