[Help] Renpy game to HTML5?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Dingieberry

[Help] Renpy game to HTML5?

#1 Post by Dingieberry »

Hello there, total renpy noob here. How can I convert/export my renpy game to html5? I've tried to 'Build and Open in Browser' but keep getting this error 'Exception: Movie(channel='movie') doesn't work on mobile when config.hw_video is true. (Use a different channel argument)'?

How can I resolve this? I really want to have the video/movie playback in the web game. If I set 'define config.hw_video = False', I can run the game but the video just doesn't appear, which isn't what I want, I want the videos to play in the web game. Here's the screenshot of the error:

Any help would be appreciated!

Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
itch: Imperf3kt

Re: [Help] Renpy game to HTML5?

#2 Post by Imperf3kt »

On mobile devices, movies are limited to fullscreen, so you can't use the Movie() method, instead you'll need to use the renpy pythonic method.
https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/movie.ht ... e_cutscene
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

Dingieberry

#3 Post by Dingieberry »

Imperf3kt wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:39 pm On mobile devices, movies are limited to fullscreen, so you can't use the Movie() method, instead you'll need to use the renpy pythonic method.
https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/movie.ht ... e_cutscene