Solved: "Requested parameter has no value" on a choice menu

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
mediumpigeon
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:32 pm
Projects: Conviction
itch: mediumpigeon
Contact:

Solved: "Requested parameter has no value" on a choice menu

#1 Post by mediumpigeon »

Hi, this is my first time asking a question on the Lemma Soft Forums so please forgive me if I'm doing this wrong or in the wrong place.
Recently, a menu in my script that used to work completely fine (a normal choice menu, see below) now gives me an odd error when I try to run it and I can't seem to figure out why.

Here's the code:

Code: Select all

label choice1:
    scene Sca bedroom 1 with fade:
        xpos 620
        ypos 360
    show frame:
    menu choose1:
        "Not enough for a nap unfortunately, but enough to do something before I need to get ready. But what?"
        "Organise tapes" if nottapes:
            $persistent.tapes=True
            $nottapes = False
            $choiceone="Tapes"
            jump tapes
        "Prepare breakfast":
            $persistent.breakfast1=True
            $breakfast=True
            $choiceone="Breakfast"
            jump day1breakfast
        "Read":
            $persistent.read1=True
            $choiceone="Read"
            jump day1read
        "Get ready and leave early" if cafeundone:
            $persistent.leaveearly1=True
            $choiceone="Leave Early"
            jump day1early
I know the colon after "show frame" is out of place but for some reason my Ren'py doesn't like it when it's not there, for whatever reason. I tried deleting it anyway to see if the error stopped, and it didn't.
I originally thought it might be because I had defined my nottapes and cafeundone variables wrong (I know it's a roundabout way of saying them, I originally had the if statement saying "if tapes == False" but changed it in the hopes that maybe Ren'py would stop crying at me, but to no avail) but I defined them in a line of code that runs before the menu:

Code: Select all

label wakeup1:
    $ nottapes = True
    $ cafeundone = True
(I previously defined them under label start but Ren'py still wasn't happy so I thought maybe the problem was because they weren't defined in the same script file they were being used in so I moved them.)

Here's the full traceback error if it helps at all:
While running game code:
File "game/scripts/act_1/homescenes.rpy", line 60, in script
menu choose1:
Exception: Required parameter clues has no value.

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
File "game/scripts/act_1/homescenes.rpy", line 60, in script
menu choose1:
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\ast.py", line 1628, in execute
choice = renpy.exports.menu(choices, self.set, args, kwargs, item_arguments)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\exports.py", line 990, in menu
rv = renpy.store.menu(new_items)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\exports.py", line 1226, in display_menu
rv = renpy.ui.interact(mouse='menu', type=type, roll_forward=roll_forward)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\ui.py", line 297, in interact
rv = renpy.game.interface.interact(roll_forward=roll_forward, **kwargs)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 2702, in interact
repeat, rv = self.interact_core(preloads=preloads, trans_pause=trans_pause, **kwargs)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 3094, in interact_core
root_widget.visit_all(lambda i : i.per_interact())
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 541, in visit_all
d.visit_all(callback, seen)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 541, in visit_all
d.visit_all(callback, seen)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 541, in visit_all
d.visit_all(callback, seen)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\screen.py", line 430, in visit_all
callback(self)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\core.py", line 3094, in <lambda>
root_widget.visit_all(lambda i : i.per_interact())
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\screen.py", line 440, in per_interact
self.update()
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\display\screen.py", line 625, in update
self.screen.function(**self.scope)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\ast.py", line 158, in apply_arguments
return parameters.apply(args, kwargs, ignore_errors)
File "C:\Users\mediumpigeon\Downloads\renpy-7.3.5-sdk\renpy\ast.py", line 122, in apply
raise Exception("Required parameter %s has no value." % name)
Exception: Required parameter clues has no value.

Windows-8-6.2.9200
Ren'Py 7.3.5.606
test_conviction 1.0
Fri Feb 05 22:00:47 2021
If anyone can figure out what's going wrong, I'd be super grateful :D I've been staring blankly at this code for ages and I have no idea why it's stopped work since earlier it was doing just fine (the only thing I've added since are more lines of text?)
Last edited by mediumpigeon on Sat Feb 06, 2021 4:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Remix
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1628
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 6:10 am
Completed: None... yet (as I'm still looking for an artist)
Projects: An un-named anime based trainer game
Contact:

Re: "Requested parameter has no value" on a choice menu

#2 Post by Remix »

Have you altered screen choice to require a parameter named clues?
Frameworks & Scriptlets:

mediumpigeon
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:32 pm
Projects: Conviction
itch: mediumpigeon
Contact:

Re: "Requested parameter has no value" on a choice menu

#3 Post by mediumpigeon »

Remix wrote: Fri Feb 05, 2021 8:03 pm Have you altered screen choice to require a parameter named clues?
Ahhhhh, I knew it would be something stupid - I ran a Find and Replace in a different project folder to replace the word "item" with "clues" but must have run it across all the project folders IK had open. Thank you so much!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]