Variable won't change when picked

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
chesarty
Regular
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:07 am
Completed: 0
Contact:

Variable won't change when picked

#1 Post by chesarty »

So... any clue why this code doesn't work? It runs but the game still reads $major as "none" rather than any of the options.

the definitions:

Code: Select all

$ journalism = False
$ finearts = False
$ accounting = False
$ philospohy = False
$ compsci = False

$ major = "none"
if journalism = True:
    $major = "Journalism"
elif finearts = True:
    $major = "Fine Arts"
elif accounting = True:
    $major = "Accounting"
elif philospohy = True:
    $major = "Philosophy"
elif compsci = True:
    $major = "Computer science"
the script:

Code: Select all

    menu:
            "Journalism":
                $journalism=True
            
            "Fine arts":
                $finearts=True

            "Accounting":
                $accounting=True

            "Philosophy":
                $philosophy=True

            "Computer science":
                $compsci=True

    mc "It's [major]. Boring, I know."

User avatar
Ocelot
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2402
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:35 am
Github: MiiNiPaa
Discord: MiiNiPaa#4384
Contact:

Re: Variable won't change when picked

#2 Post by Ocelot »

if journalism = True:if journalism == True:
Same with others.
Also in your script there is nothing to change value of major after menu selection.
< < insert Rick Cook quote here > >

rayminator
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:05 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Variable won't change when picked

#3 Post by rayminator »

here is your problem

either you use default or a init to define your variable it would be best to use default

Code: Select all

default journalism = False

or 

outside of a any label
init:
    $ journalism = False

Code: Select all

$ journalism = False
$ finearts = False
$ accounting = False
$ philospohy = False
$ compsci = False
and with these that are not spaced out the same way you defined the variables

Code: Select all

menu:
            "Journalism":
                $journalism=True < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable
            
            "Fine arts":
                $finearts=True < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable

            "Accounting":
                $accounting=True < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable

            "Philosophy":
                $philosophy=True < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable

            "Computer science":
                $compsci=True < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable
and the same for this

Code: Select all

if journalism = True:
    $major = "Journalism" < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable
elif finearts = True:
    $major = "Fine Arts" < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable
elif accounting = True:
    $major = "Accounting" < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable
elif philospohy = True:
    $major = "Philosophy" < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable
elif compsci = True:
    $major = "Computer science" < need to be spaced out the same way as the defined variable

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot], voluorem