Multiple NVL windows at the same time?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Xinoel

Multiple NVL windows at the same time?

#1 Post by Xinoel »

Hello everyone. I'm new to Ren'Py and not quite familiar with Python, so apologies if the question is basic (or weird).

Here I'm making something like a messaging system, and I want to put two NVL windows side by side on screen and let them just stay there like the player is talking with two guys simultaenously, with every dialogue popping up in either of the window according to the Character and doesn't disappear. Turns out it doesn't work out well and is more difficult than I thought....

I have searched for solutions on Lemma. This post made by Kasumi and her tutorial of customizing NVL textbox really help me a lot (Thanks!!), but what it achieved is "showing two NVL window styles ALTERNATELY" so it doesn't really solve my problem.

Also the former post mentioned "creating a pseudo-NVL screen" and to use it as the second messaging screen, so I tried:
1) copying the whole part about NVL in screens.rpy and pasting it in script.rpy and changing all the names (and the positions) to create a PseudoNVL screen;
2) adding a "screen="PseudoNVL"" argument when defining every Character that needs to appear at the second screen.