[Solved] Trying to use a Method to change variables based on Attributes of a Class Instance

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
LateWhiteRabbit
Eileen-Class Veteran
Projects: The Space Between

[Solved] Trying to use a Method to change variables based on Attributes of a Class Instance

#1 Post by LateWhiteRabbit »

Okay, so first, I'm not a great coder. I know just enough to get myself into trouble.

I've been setting up a quite complicated game using NVL style dialogue and I've gotten nearly everything I want working, but I've been hung up on one thing for an entire week, and though I've been studying Python tutorials and help forums, I can't quite find the information to do what I want, especially as it relates to Ren'Py.

Basically, the game is going to have a LOT of clothing items for the player to wear, and each clothing item has attributes I want to be able to easily call in the dialogue script. As you can see from the Clothing custom class code below, those are the clothing's name, a description of it, a list of aspects (since the word 'properties' is reserved), the location on the player's body the item is worn, and the amount of the clothing item the player current possesses.