Creating different dialog boxes for different characters?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
ketskari
Veteran
Completed: Asher, Sunrise, Tell a Demon
Projects: Asher Remake, TEoA
Organization: Sun Labyrinth
Tumblr: sunlabyrinth
Deviantart: sunlabyrinth
itch: sunlabyrinth

Creating different dialog boxes for different characters?

#1 Post by ketskari »

First--sorry, I'm really new at this.

Anyway, is it possible to create multiple dialog frame images for different characters? I wanted the narrator, for instance, to have a sort of old paper-themed background, while I'd want the characters to speak with a different background image?

Thanks!

Naeddyr

Re: Creating different dialog boxes for different characters

#2 Post by Naeddyr »

This is possible. The easiest way *I* can think of (I'm a novice so wait around until someone else gives better advice) is simply to replace the current "say" screen with a new one.

http://www.renpy.org/doc/html/screens.h ... n-language

The "say" statement (which is also the default statement that doesn't need the keyword, so you have

Code: Select all

character "text"
instead of

say character "text"
) sends its parameters and stuff into a "say" screen, and if you make your own "say" screen, replacing the old one, you can have a conditional within that checks what character is speaking, and adjusts the looks of the screen appropriately, using if-statements.

screen say:
    window id "window":
        vbox:
            spacing 10
            text who id "who"
            text what id "what"