Legal stuff to know about games?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Emiya24
Regular
Projects: Ram the Necromancer
Deviantart: Emiya24

Legal stuff to know about games?

#1 Post by Emiya24 »

Im a rather new aspiring developer :?
im a one man team (getting help occassionally)
so i really dont have anyone to ask
i have no idea about the law or legal stuff surrounding the different assets of game creation
if you developed music for you game... do you get licenses for that? are you suppose to register it somewhere?
how about the game art? and other stuff? o.o

if anyone had found a guide for a total noob to the game developing scene like me that be really great and helpful xD

firecat
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: The Unknowns Saga series
Projects: The Unknown Saga series
Tumblr: bigattck
Deviantart: bigattck
Soundcloud: bigattck-firecat

Re: Legal stuff to know about games?

#2 Post by firecat »

Music, Art and writing are auto copyright anything you make is yours to do as please, the only thing you need to understand is that you can not steal from someone, also credit them if they asked or else its stolen.

registration is a way to protect yourself from theft, it gives the court of law easier understanding of the owner and more.

there is no guide yet since certain laws are only good for certain things. major factors in the gaming industry law include where you live, updates to old laws, and general "everyone ignores the law because no one is enforcing it".

special thanks to nantoka.main.jp and iichan_lolbot

Emiya24
Regular
Projects: Ram the Necromancer
Deviantart: Emiya24

#3 Post by Emiya24 »