Way to show the text box during call screen imagemap?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
JustSkyLarkin
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:11 pm
Contact:

Way to show the text box during call screen imagemap?

#1 Post by JustSkyLarkin »

So in my game I currently have a screen where I use an imagemap with hotspots. The thing is, when that screen is called via "call screen", the textbox disappears.

Is there any way to have the textbox remain on the screen with the imagemap? It's a transparent image, so doesn't cover up the textbox area at all.

Edit: I'm going to work around this issue by editing the image I'm using for the imagemap :)

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Way to show the text box during call screen imagemap?

#2 Post by PyTom »

If you include:

Code: Select all

window show
in your game, the window will remain shown until

Code: Select all

window hide
is run.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
JustSkyLarkin
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Way to show the text box during call screen imagemap?

#3 Post by JustSkyLarkin »

PyTom wrote:If you include:

Code: Select all

window show
in your game, the window will remain shown until

Code: Select all

window hide
is run.
That put a blank window right in the middle of my screen. Is there a way to move that position at all back down like during normal screen calls and have it display a character name/text like normal also?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Google [Bot]