Ren'Py Window Size Bug

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Crazy Li
Regular
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:35 pm
Contact:

Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#1 Post by Crazy Li »

So a strange thing happened to me recently... the launcher window is suddenly REALLY tiny, making the text too small for me to really read well. I can't really say what could have caused this. I just opened it one time and it started doing this. I tried updating the program after, but that didn't fix anything. I've been using Ren'Py for years and never encountered this before, so it's very strange. I figured I'd make a note of it before taking any more extreme actions like wiping Ren'Py entirely and doing a fresh install.

To better explain what I mean by the window size, I've attached an image showing the actual size of it now. Image
that's not a thumbnail, it's not shrunken down. That's full size.

Honestly, this would probably not be an issue if you could resize the window back manually in some capacity, but it's stuck at what it is, so I'm not sure how I'd go about fixing it unless a fresh install is indeed the solution.

Oh and if it matters, this is Windows version. I use 8.1... though even if I boot into Linux and run it from the .sh file instead, I get the same thing (I'm assuming because the Linux version just launches the renpy.exe through WINE or something)

User avatar
Alex
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3090
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#2 Post by Alex »

Try to hold shift while runung renpy.exe, then choose different renderers. If it won't help check your video card drivers.

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3785
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#3 Post by Imperf3kt »

Possibly take a look at renpy itself, the launcher is editable.

under c:/program files/renpy/launcher/game/gui7.rpy
ensure lines 335 to 385 are the same as this:

Code: Select all

label gui_project_size:

    python:

        gui_size = interface.choice(
            _("What resolution should the project use? Although Ren'Py can scale the window up and down, this is the initial size of the window, the size at which assets should be drawn, and the size at which the assets will be at their sharpest.\n\nThe default of 1280x720 is a reasonable compromise."),
            [
                ((1066, 600), "1066x600"),
                ((1280, 720), "1280x720"),
                ((1920, 1080), "1920x1080"),
                ("custom", _("Custom. The GUI is optimized for a 16:9 aspect ratio.")),
            ],
            (1280, 720),
            cancel=Jump("front_page"),
        )

        if gui_size == "custom":

            gui_width = ""
            while True:
                gui_width = interface.input(
                    _("WIDTH"),
                    _("Please enter the width of your game, in pixels."),
                    cancel=Jump("front_page"),
                    allow=interface.DIGITS_LETTERS,
                )

                try:
                    gui_width = int(gui_width)
                except:
                    interface.error(_("The width must be a number."), label=None)
                    continue
                break

            gui_height = ""
            while True:
                gui_height = interface.input(
                    _("HEIGHT"),
                    _("Please enter the height of your game, in pixels."),
                    cancel=Jump("front_page"),
                    allow=interface.DIGITS_LETTERS,
                )

                try:
                    gui_height = int(gui_height)
                except:
                    interface.error(_("The height must be a number."), label=None)
                    continue
                break

            gui_size = (gui_width, gui_height)
            
Note: I am running renpy 7.1.3, so potentially there might be changes I am unaware of.
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

Crazy Li
Regular
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#4 Post by Crazy Li »

Alex wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:40 pm Try to hold shift while runung renpy.exe, then choose different renderers. If it won't help check your video card drivers.
holding shift while double clicking renpy.exe didn't do anything. It just opened as normal (well normal now with the tiny window) not sure what you mean by choose different renderers.

It can't be a video card driver thing since there was no change between when it was regular size and now.
Imperf3kt wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:47 pm ...
No, that wouldn't be it. What you quoted are the lines related to the prompt when creating a new game that asks what size the game window should be. It has nothing to do with the launcher window.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#5 Post by PyTom »

It sounds like your windows display scaling is set oddly. Do you have multiple monitors with a different DPI on each, for some reason?
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Crazy Li
Regular
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#6 Post by Crazy Li »

PyTom wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:19 pm It sounds like your windows display scaling is set oddly. Do you have multiple monitors with a different DPI on each, for some reason?
I have dual monitors, but they are literally identical... like I got 2 of the same exact monitor at the same exact time identical. Also, I've not messed with any settings between when Ren'py was normal and Ren'py was like it is now.

Literally the only thing that happened was I tried to build an Android distro but I was missing something so it failed. I closed Ren'py, got what I needed, and when I launched it again, it was all tiny and remains that way on every subsequent launch across both Windows and Linux.

User avatar
Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3785
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:05 am
itch: Imperf3kt
Location: Your monitor
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#7 Post by Imperf3kt »

Crazy Li wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:20 pm
Imperf3kt wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:47 pm ...
No, that wouldn't be it. What you quoted are the lines related to the prompt when creating a new game that asks what size the game window should be. It has nothing to do with the launcher window.
Woops, do it is.

This is why I shouldn't check the forum at 5 in the morning
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16088
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: Ren'Py Window Size Bug

#8 Post by PyTom »

Hmm... maybe hit shift+O as in Oscar to get into the cOnsole, then type

Code: Select all

renpy.set_physical_size((800, 600))
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]