[Solved] Text Menu and Language

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
PGN
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2022 4:54 am
Contact:

[Solved] Text Menu and Language

#1 Post by PGN »

English is not my language, so I write through an online translator.
After translating the game into English, ran the game and wanted to check whether everything is translated. And noticed a bug in the dialogue menu.
I use Use RenPy 7.4.11.
In the original game script, the menu is used as follows.

Code: Select all

menu:
    emotion "Text"
    "choice 1":
         action...
    "choice 2":
         action...
But when I change the translation, through the screen and Language().
The menu in the game is shown like this.

Code: Select all

emotion "Text"
menu:
    "choice 1":
         action...
    "choice 2":
         action...
Instead of showing the dialog and the menu at the same time, after changing the language, only the dialog is shown first, and after a click the dialog is hidden and the menu appears. I have no conditions from the selected language to display the menu, so it must be a bug in RenPy itself. But how to fix it, I do not know.
Last edited by PGN on Sat Feb 12, 2022 5:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Text Menu and Language

#2 Post by PyTom »

I'm tracking this at:

https://github.com/renpy/renpy/issues/3288

Do you have a small game that exhibits the problem? It might be a little bit until I can work on this, and having a small example means I won't have to try to replicate the problem from this example. Thanks.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

PGN
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2022 4:54 am
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Text Menu and Language

#3 Post by PGN »

Thanks for the tip. I created a new game. And was able to understand my mistake. I had not used the menu this way before and I thought the nointeract tag was superfluous. The whole problem was because of it, I took it out - error, gave it back - everything works.
Thanks)
Sorry for your time, next time I will test the errors on the "bare" game first.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users