[Solved]Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
murosakiiro
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2023 7:41 am
Contact:

[Solved]Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

#1 Post by murosakiiro »

I've looked through some other topics, but none seem to answer my question. My code isn't complicated, but I don't want the scene to retransition when I add a new image.

my code looks like this:

Code: Select all

    # Set the background to space
    scene bg space with fade

    # Display spaceship info
    "In the cold darkness of space, Captain [player_name]'s ship, the [ship_name], hurtled through the cosmos"

    # Display spaceship hurtling through space
    show spaceship at center with fade
    
    "In an instant of cosmic karma, their will was about to be tested."
and this is what happens.
Image

I just want the spaceship to fade in on top of the background, and not have the background fade in again. Is there any way to do this?
Last edited by murosakiiro on Sat Nov 25, 2023 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ocelot
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2490
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:35 am
Github: MiiNiPaa
Discord: MiiNiPaa#4384
Contact:

Re: Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

#2 Post by Ocelot »

Fade is by definition — screen to black, then to new scene.
If you do not want whole screen turning black, use another transition. dissolve looks like it would be most fitting there.
< < insert Rick Cook quote here > >

murosakiiro
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2023 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

#3 Post by murosakiiro »

okay, i didn't know that.
I also have the same issue with moveinleft and moveinright. would I just need to write my own transition to stop that from happening?

User avatar
m_from_space
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

#4 Post by m_from_space »

murosakiiro wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 5:27 am I also have the same issue with moveinleft and moveinright.
Those are specifically designed to move / transition a whole "scene" (meaning all images on the layer), yes. You just need simple transforms to pull in some characters.

User avatar
Ocelot
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 2490
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:35 am
Github: MiiNiPaa
Discord: MiiNiPaa#4384
Contact:

Re: Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

#5 Post by Ocelot »

What issue do you have and what is the code of scene? Movein* transitions should move only new images onto screen.
< < insert Rick Cook quote here > >

murosakiiro
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2023 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

#6 Post by murosakiiro »

Ocelot wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 6:22 am What issue do you have and what is the code of scene? Movein* transitions should move only new images onto screen.
it's not quite the same issue, but it still redraws the background, when I just want the new image to appear over it.
here's the code for the cutscene:

Code: Select all

label Cut5:

    show VasDroid at right
    va "That-"
    va "That's not possible, Babe."
    va "Nothing that strong can come through unless-"

    show SanBat at left

    sn "The Gate is weakening again."
    sn "Good, I've missed a real fight."

    hide SanBat

    va "Sanavi!"

    $ Location = Local3

    jump TutBoss
and here is what happens:
Image

murosakiiro
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2023 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Prevent scene redraw on new Transition?

#7 Post by murosakiiro »

m_from_space wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 6:00 am
murosakiiro wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 5:27 am I also have the same issue with moveinleft and moveinright.
Those are specifically designed to move / transition a whole "scene" (meaning all images on the layer), yes. You just need simple transforms to pull in some characters.
okay, thank you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot]