Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
- PyTom
- Ren'Py Creator
- Posts: 16122
- Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
- Completed: Moonlight Walks
- Projects: Ren'Py
- IRC Nick: renpytom
- Github: renpytom
- itch: renpytom
- Location: Kings Park, NY
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Jack, for these last errors, are you in software rendering mode? (No maximize button, can't scale window.)
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom
- jack_norton
- Lemma-Class Veteran
- Posts: 4096
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
- Completed: Too many! See my homepage
- Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
- Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Yes exactly! Lol I didn't notice it, because to start renpy from Scite I use CTRL+0 In GL mode, everything works.
- PyTom
- Ren'Py Creator
- Posts: 16122
- Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
- Completed: Moonlight Walks
- Projects: Ren'Py
- IRC Nick: renpytom
- Github: renpytom
- itch: renpytom
- Location: Kings Park, NY
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Where we're sitting right now:
Mihara >>> I have one more thing to try when it comes to your video bug, and then I'm willing to call it a system-specific problem and move on.
adelhaid >>> Fixed.
backansi >>> Fixed.
Spiky >>> It seems that you have a driver problem. When a driver fails to release memory once the program that uses it terminates, then that's a bug in the driver - regardless of what the program's behavior is. (I'm treating the X server as a device driver here.) Now, I'm willing to make reasonable changes to Ren'Py in order to work around driver bugs. But in this case, I don't know if it's even possible to fix the bug - so I'm not sure what change to make.
The only possibility I can think of is that the problem might be triggered by having an OpenGL program fork and exec another program. You can test this by launching the launcher in non-GL mode, and the game in GL mode, and seeing if the leak still occurs.
The test for GL support has to map a window, before we can give up on GL. So you're going to be stuck mapping windows twice if you have a system that doesn't support OpenGL. (You could also set RENPY_RENDERER=sw to force software rendering mode.)
I have yet to implement the rendering performance check, as I've been trying to design it.
Jack >>> The g problem was due to a slightly corrupt font, but I've changed Ren'Py so it will deal with it. (The font metrics didn't add up to the font height.)
I've also fixed the SWDraw deinit problem.
I've switched the no-GL key from ctrl to shift, to try to prevent no-gl mode from being invoked accidentally.
Mihara >>> I have one more thing to try when it comes to your video bug, and then I'm willing to call it a system-specific problem and move on.
adelhaid >>> Fixed.
backansi >>> Fixed.
Spiky >>> It seems that you have a driver problem. When a driver fails to release memory once the program that uses it terminates, then that's a bug in the driver - regardless of what the program's behavior is. (I'm treating the X server as a device driver here.) Now, I'm willing to make reasonable changes to Ren'Py in order to work around driver bugs. But in this case, I don't know if it's even possible to fix the bug - so I'm not sure what change to make.
The only possibility I can think of is that the problem might be triggered by having an OpenGL program fork and exec another program. You can test this by launching the launcher in non-GL mode, and the game in GL mode, and seeing if the leak still occurs.
The test for GL support has to map a window, before we can give up on GL. So you're going to be stuck mapping windows twice if you have a system that doesn't support OpenGL. (You could also set RENPY_RENDERER=sw to force software rendering mode.)
I have yet to implement the rendering performance check, as I've been trying to design it.
Jack >>> The g problem was due to a slightly corrupt font, but I've changed Ren'Py so it will deal with it. (The font metrics didn't add up to the font height.)
I've also fixed the SWDraw deinit problem.
I've switched the no-GL key from ctrl to shift, to try to prevent no-gl mode from being invoked accidentally.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom
- jack_norton
- Lemma-Class Veteran
- Posts: 4096
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
- Completed: Too many! See my homepage
- Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
- Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
I have another bug, I am not sure if is wrong implementation of language or a real bug... anyway I made a video to explain it better.
The video: http://www.winterwolves.net/PS_wrong2.avi
Explanation of the bug:
I have added small numbers to indicate the damage done as suggested by many people. Before this new screen language I don't really know how I would have done it
the last 3 lines: in my main battle loop I use the value Ehit to store which enemy was it, and by which amount (Ehit[1]). Then I display a text with the new command text, using the transform flyup:
so you see a floating text that slowly goes up and also fades to alpha 0.0.
Problem: if I click on attack button once, the effect doesn't work (not sure why, the other effect in the line above that makes the enemy red works!). Instead if I click attack and then click again, to skip the pause in the game, it works!
Any clue if there's something wrong in renpy or if is a bug on my side (but in this case I don't really know what it could be...)
The video: http://www.winterwolves.net/PS_wrong2.avi
Explanation of the bug:
I have added small numbers to indicate the damage done as suggested by many people. Before this new screen language I don't really know how I would have done it
Code: Select all
screen b_enemies:
zorder 0
frame xalign 0.5 yalign 0.6 style "default":
hbox spacing 4:
$ ToTEnemy=0
for i in range(len(tmpEnemy)):
if int(tmpEnemy[i][3])>0:
$ ToTEnemy+=1
for i in range(len(tmpEnemy)):
if int(tmpEnemy[i][3])>0:
fixed area(0,50,400,200):
add "gfx/shadow.png" zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22]) align (.5, 1.0)
$ enim="gfx/rpg/%s.png" % tmpEnemy[i][1]
add (enim) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22]) align (.5, 1.4)
if Ehit[i][0]>0:
add (im.MatrixColor(enim,im.matrix.saturation(1.6)*im.matrix.tint(1.0,.25,.25)*im.matrix.brightness(0.2))) at shake zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22]) alpha 1.0
text ("%d" % Ehit[i][1] ) at flyup(.3+renpy.random.random()*.3,renpy.random.random()*.3) style "tip2"
Code: Select all
transform flyup(x,y):
align (x, y)
alpha 1.0
linear 2.0 alpha 0.0 ypos -35
Problem: if I click on attack button once, the effect doesn't work (not sure why, the other effect in the line above that makes the enemy red works!). Instead if I click attack and then click again, to skip the pause in the game, it works!
Any clue if there's something wrong in renpy or if is a bug on my side (but in this case I don't really know what it could be...)
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 253
- Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:59 pm
- Completed: Lots.
- Projects: Black Closet
- Organization: Slipshod
- Location: Behind you.
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
(... odd, clicking what I thought would be the 'delete' button for this post instead deleted the delete button.)
Last edited by Spiky Caterpillar on Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nom nom nom nom nom LEAVES.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 253
- Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:59 pm
- Completed: Lots.
- Projects: Black Closet
- Organization: Slipshod
- Location: Behind you.
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Starting games in GL from a non-GL launcher hides the leak, yes.PyTom wrote:Spiky >>> It seems that you have a driver problem. When a driver fails to release memory once the program that uses it terminates, then that's a bug in the driver - regardless of what the program's behavior is. (I'm treating the X server as a device driver here.) Now, I'm willing to make reasonable changes to Ren'Py in order to work around driver bugs. But in this case, I don't know if it's even possible to fix the bug - so I'm not sure what change to make.
The only possibility I can think of is that the problem might be triggered by having an OpenGL program fork and exec another program. You can test this by launching the launcher in non-GL mode, and the game in GL mode, and seeing if the leak still occurs.
I'll poke around some more and see if I can find a satisfactory workaround (or get Debian to apply some variation of Ubuntu's fix for the real bug, which might be a better project.)
I suppose that explains why it didn't seem to be working.The test for GL support has to map a window, before we can give up on GL. So you're going to be stuck mapping windows twice if you have a system that doesn't support OpenGL. (You could also set RENPY_RENDERER=sw to force software rendering mode.)
I have yet to implement the rendering performance check, as I've been trying to design it.
Nom nom nom nom nom LEAVES.
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
I think a first_indent property has something that needs to be fixed.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 253
- Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:59 pm
- Completed: Lots.
- Projects: Black Closet
- Organization: Slipshod
- Location: Behind you.
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
ATL parallel seems broken in 6.11.0d:
seems to only update xanchor; switching it around so xpos is last will update xpos but doesn't appear to update xanchor.
'eastasian', 'western', and 'line breaking' or 'breaking (text)' should probably be
in the index and lead to the language style property.
renpy.block_rollback() and renpy.utter_restart() aren't in the index.
slideawayright and slideawayleft reset at least some ATL state, as seen in
(Although I don't actually need a fix for that, as I was only using slideaway by accident to begin with)
Code: Select all
show virginia happy:
parallel:
ease 1.0 xpos 990
parallel:
ease 1.0 xanchor 1.0
'eastasian', 'western', and 'line breaking' or 'breaking (text)' should probably be
in the index and lead to the language style property.
renpy.block_rollback() and renpy.utter_restart() aren't in the index.
slideawayright and slideawayleft reset at least some ATL state, as seen in
Code: Select all
show expression Solid('#f00'):
alpha 1.0
linear 1.0 alpha 0.0
"Let this fade..."
show expression Text('fnord') as fnord
hide fnord with slideawayleft
Nom nom nom nom nom LEAVES.
- jack_norton
- Lemma-Class Veteran
- Posts: 4096
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
- Completed: Too many! See my homepage
- Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
- Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Ah, then wasn't my fault, I tried some parallel (haven't used ATL much so far) and had same behaviour! I can confirm that bug here too then.
- jack_norton
- Lemma-Class Veteran
- Posts: 4096
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
- Completed: Too many! See my homepage
- Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
- Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
I think I found another bug in screen language. I have this code:
[/code]
in particular damage type: shows a different effect based on the damage type.
The problem is: if I attack with explosive (should trigger b_explode animation) it shows NOTHING (while shows b_shock).
If I swap the first two damage type lines:
b_explode plays correctly but b_shock shows nothing!!!
It's a renpy bug, right? I think I did everything correctly...
Code: Select all
screen b_enemies:
zorder 0
frame xalign 0.5 yalign 0.5 style "default":
hbox spacing 4:
$ ToTEnemy=0
for i in range(len(tmpEnemy)):
if int(tmpEnemy[i][3])>0:
$ ToTEnemy+=1
for i in range(len(tmpEnemy)):
if int(tmpEnemy[i][3])>0:
fixed area(0,0,256,320):
add "gfx/shadow.png" zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22]) align (.5, 1.2)
$ enim="gfx/rpg/%s.png" % tmpEnemy[i][1]
add (enim) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22]) align (.5, 1.4)
if Ehit[i][0]>0:
add (im.MatrixColor(enim,im.matrix.saturation(1.6)*im.matrix.tint(1.0,.25,.25)*im.matrix.brightness(0.2))) at shake zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22]) alpha 1.0
text ("%d" % Ehit[i][1] ) at flyup(.5,.0) style "tip2" size 28
#damage type?
if Ehit[i][0]==1:
add "b_shock" align (.2, .25) rotate renpy.random.randint(0,90) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22])
if Ehit[i][0]==2:
add "b_explode" align (.2, .25) rotate renpy.random.randint(0,90) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22])
if Ehit[i][0]==3:
add "b_shock" align (.2, .25) rotate renpy.random.randint(0,90) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22])
if Ehit[i][0]==4:
add "b_shock" align (.2, .25) rotate renpy.random.randint(0,90) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22])
if Ehit[i][0]==5:
add "b_vortex" align (.5, .2) around(128,180) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22])[code]
in particular damage type: shows a different effect based on the damage type.
The problem is: if I attack with explosive (should trigger b_explode animation) it shows NOTHING (while shows b_shock).
If I swap the first two damage type lines:
Code: Select all
if Ehit[i][0]==2:
add "b_explode" align (.2, .25) rotate renpy.random.randint(0,90) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22])
if Ehit[i][0]==1:
add "b_shock" align (.2, .25) rotate renpy.random.randint(0,90) zoom float(tmpEnemy[i][22])
It's a renpy bug, right? I think I did everything correctly...
- PyTom
- Ren'Py Creator
- Posts: 16122
- Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
- Completed: Moonlight Walks
- Projects: Ren'Py
- IRC Nick: renpytom
- Github: renpytom
- itch: renpytom
- Location: Kings Park, NY
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Jack, you really need to include more complete code with your examples. I don't when/if you're calling renpy.restart_interaction(). The screen language only changes things as the result of renpy.restart_interaction(), or the start of a new interaction.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom
- jack_norton
- Lemma-Class Veteran
- Posts: 4096
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
- Completed: Too many! See my homepage
- Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
- Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Hah the problem is that the complete code is over 200 lines it's the whole battle engine main loop...
I try to explain it but otherwise let me know if you want me to email it.
The main loop is:
there follows a LOT of stuff for the battle, and if is the player attacking turn, I do:
and of course at the end I have:
maybe it's the pause the problem ? the first line sets the Ehit variable that triggers the animation/FX in the b_enemies screen.
Maybe I can try reducing lot of stuff and make a test app? I don't call renpy.restart_interaction, I tried adding that now but the bug is still there.
Actually, both the 1st and last case works, but all the other in middle not.
I try to explain it but otherwise let me know if you want me to email it.
The main loop is:
Code: Select all
label battleloop:
show screen b_enemies
python:
Code: Select all
Ehit[tar][0]=Item[Inv[ex][0][0]][6]+1;Ehit[tar][1]=dmg
ui.text(rs,size=18,xalign=0.5)
renpy.pause(3.0)
Ehit[tar][0]=0
Code: Select all
jump battleloop
Maybe I can try reducing lot of stuff and make a test app? I don't call renpy.restart_interaction, I tried adding that now but the bug is still there.
Actually, both the 1st and last case works, but all the other in middle not.
- jack_norton
- Lemma-Class Veteran
- Posts: 4096
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 pm
- Completed: Too many! See my homepage
- Projects: A lot! See www.winterwolves.com
- Tumblr: winterwolvesgames
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
Ok sorry, I've made a VERY SHORT example now:
variable "i" sets a random damage but also type of FX. Only fx 1 and 5 (the first and the last in the b_screen) are displayed on screen. All the others not.
Code: Select all
label quickbattle:
show screen b_enemies
python:
renpy.scene()
renpy.show(bkg)
i=renpy.random.randint(1,5)
Ehit[tar][0]=i;Ehit[tar][1]=i
ui.text("TEST!",size=18,xalign=0.5)
renpy.pause(3.0)
Ehit[tar][0]=0
renpy.pause(1.0)
jump quickbattle
-
- Regular
- Posts: 130
- Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 7:07 pm
- Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
I was checking out a personal project in the new version, and found an issue with 6.11.0d that had me stumped for a while.
My project was showing all of its scene backgrounds slightly smaller than the window, unless I explicitly added some directives after the scene statement, such as "xpos 0.0 ypos 0.0".
After some detective work, I discovered that I had redefined the transform 'center' for my own purposes. But apparently, the default action of the "scene" statement makes use of a transform named 'center', and used my redefinition of it.
Could you please make it so the scene statement doesn't use named transforms, and just writes out its defaults in plain properties?
My project was showing all of its scene backgrounds slightly smaller than the window, unless I explicitly added some directives after the scene statement, such as "xpos 0.0 ypos 0.0".
After some detective work, I discovered that I had redefined the transform 'center' for my own purposes. But apparently, the default action of the "scene" statement makes use of a transform named 'center', and used my redefinition of it.
Could you please make it so the scene statement doesn't use named transforms, and just writes out its defaults in plain properties?
Flash To Ren'Py Exporter
See the Cookbook thread
See the Cookbook thread
- PyTom
- Ren'Py Creator
- Posts: 16122
- Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
- Completed: Moonlight Walks
- Projects: Ren'Py
- IRC Nick: renpytom
- Github: renpytom
- itch: renpytom
- Location: Kings Park, NY
- Contact:
Re: Ren'Py 6.11.0 Pre-Released
I just updated to 6.11.0e. Changes include:
- The disable GL key has been changed to shift. (Instead of ctrl.)
- GL now performs a performance test on startup, and will disable itself if it can't render 4 dissolve frames in .25 seconds.
- GL is now disabled in the launcher.
- A problem with parsing if statements in screen language code has been fixed. You may need to make a change to your file (causing it to be recompiled) to have this change take effect.
- A problem with ATL over-computing changes has been fixed. This manifested as a problem with the ATL parallel statement.
- Fixed a potential (but unlikely) race condition in the video playback code.
- Stopped defining the default transform in terms of named transforms. (Per Kinsman, above.)
- Fixed problems with broken fonts.
- Fixed problems with indentation.
- Fixed crashes with software rendering involving a missing deinit method.
- Changed the placement of the developer-mode window to be compatible with RTL languages.
Once again, thanks to all the testers.
- The disable GL key has been changed to shift. (Instead of ctrl.)
- GL now performs a performance test on startup, and will disable itself if it can't render 4 dissolve frames in .25 seconds.
- GL is now disabled in the launcher.
- A problem with parsing if statements in screen language code has been fixed. You may need to make a change to your file (causing it to be recompiled) to have this change take effect.
- A problem with ATL over-computing changes has been fixed. This manifested as a problem with the ATL parallel statement.
- Fixed a potential (but unlikely) race condition in the video playback code.
- Stopped defining the default transform in terms of named transforms. (Per Kinsman, above.)
- Fixed problems with broken fonts.
- Fixed problems with indentation.
- Fixed crashes with software rendering involving a missing deinit method.
- Changed the placement of the developer-mode window to be compatible with RTL languages.
Once again, thanks to all the testers.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], mtermik