Pertaining to art: How much copying is copying?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Glasskitten
Regular
Completed: I confess to nothing! \(>o<)/

Pertaining to art: How much copying is copying?

#1 Post by Glasskitten »

:oops: :oops: :oops:

I discovered that while I am not very good at drawing from imagination, I can do a reasonably good job copying other drawings--especially if I trace over the basic shapes first and then duplicate my tracing freehand. I have done this before for practice, but I was wondering if the restrictions on using drawings produced in such a manner are the same as if I were using the original work. (Of course, I would need to vary the details, which in their original form would probably not be what I was aiming for anyway--i.e. I have in front of me a partial Barbie-doll type thing that was copied from a Tokimeki Memorial character portrait and was hoping to give it a variety of clothing/hair/face selections, probably copied from yet another source.)

:oops: :oops: :oops:

On a related note, am I actually going to learn anything this way?
Grand list of things not officially canceled:
Salt -- the heartwarming story of brain-eating space worms
Tangent -- an epic poem and/or novel about a borderline-autistic Martian imp and her relationship with God
Kittens of the Darned -- a grimdark soap opera about sexy catgirls (Indefinitely postponed until I learn to draw and color realistically)
The Other Mary -- the most perfect fic about the most perfect Mary Sue EVER
Rockheart -- a short story about a monster who kills everyone
Corrupted -- a completely different short story about a monster who kills everyone (late Worst Visual Novel Ever)
Checkpoint 36a -- the transcription of a short multi-ending dream about time travel and undead schoolgirls