I'm New to Ren'Py Questions

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Zephie-chan

I'm New to Ren'Py Questions

#1 Post by Zephie-chan »

Being new to Ren'Py, I have some questions regarding things not working at all, or not like I would expect. As well as general questions about how to do certain things. I hope someone can help. :)

My most immediate concern: For some reason I cannot get the splash screen to work. I got the code from the Cookbook section, so I assume it's something I did/am doing (or didn't do) rather than something else. This is how I have it set up:

Code: Select all

label splashscreen:
    scene bg white
    with Pause(0.5)

show splash firstimage
    with dissolve
    with Pause(2.0)

show splash secondimage
    with dissolve
    with Pause(2.0)

scene bg white
    with dissolve
    with Pause(1.0)

return
It's in "script.rpy" after the "init:" block, but before "label start:" block. Yet every time I launch the game, which I do from the Ren'Py Launcher, it immediately goes to the main menu rather than show the splash images that I've specified.

The second, and less immediate, concern: From the CHANGELOG.txt, I see that you can use the "config.image_buttons" and "config.image_labels" variables to change the buttons and what not of the main menu and game menu into what images I provide for it. I can't seem to find any examples of these commands in the Reference Manual, but I might just be looking in the wrong place. Can someone explain to me how they work? Is it merely "config.image_buttons("image.png")", or what?