epub 3.0 VN

In this forum we discuss the future of Ren'Py, both bug fixes and longer-term development. Pre-releases are announced and discussed here.
SiriWesen

epub 3.0 VN

#1 Post by SiriWesen »

Hi,

okay, I'm not an expert on different data formats, but I had this workshop about Adobe CS6 last week and there was something very interesting in it, and I just want to throw it into the room. I don't know, if this will be even possible, but okay, let me explain.

The Workshop was about tabelt and app publishing with InDesign. As you may know, InDesign 6 has some new features especially made for ebooks. The thing is, there are different formats. Apple has it's own format, amazon as well. And the there is a third one: epub.
At the moment the general format for ebooks is called epub 2.0. It contains Pictures, graphics and text. But since last year, 2011, there was another format introduced. It is called epub 3.0. And Adobe supports this format. The special thing about epub 3.0 is able to display pictures, graphics and text, and in addition: An ebook in the epub 3.0 format is able to play videos, music, animations, to register interactive stuff you do with it and so on.

Atm there is no hardware that is able to read the format. But the guy leading the workshop ensured that this will change soon. He translated an epub 3.0 ebook for this years Book Fair in Frankfurt.

The thing is, with this format, an ebook is basically like a visual novel. Or at least very similar. Sound, Video, pictures, text, interactive stuff... and it would be great to play VNs on a tablet.

So my thought was, it would be great, if there was a way to publish the VN's of Ren'Py as epub 3.0 format. So a future tablet / ebook could read it. And I think VNs are just made for sth like a tablet pc or an ebook reader.