Some trouble in doing arts...

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
chisa-chan
Regular

Some trouble in doing arts...

#1 Post by chisa-chan »

I am totally amateur at inking. I wonder which size is the best for the outline, inner line, and the details? I use drawing pen in this case.

Thanks for the help.
Kalau tidak suka ya jangan diladeni, gitu aja kok repot™.
Cynanthia's Blog (Indonesian)

F.I.A
Miko-Class Veteran
Projects: Winter Shard, EVE, Hyperion

#2 Post by F.I.A »

I am not that good at inking either, but I will say what I do.

I got inking pens of different thickness, from 0.5mm to 0.1mm. Normally, I use 0.3 for outer lines, 0.2 for inner and later 0.1 for detail.

[NOTE: Keep in mind with the change in the pen thickness. When use for a long time, the tip will start to soften, making it harder to keep a perfect size. That means buying new pens in general.
「通りすがりのメーカだ。覚えとけ。」

----------
Winter shard
WIP: Hyperion(Trace unknown), ?????(Progressing)

Jake
Support Hero

#3 Post by Jake »

Also bear in mind that if you're using technical pens (or any roller/felt nib drawing pens) you're going to get a uniform line width whatever you do (or a really scruffy one, if you just drag it lightly across the page) so it's a lot of effort to try and emulate the typical manga inking with varying line widths on the same line.

So really, don't get disheartened if you can't do it, because it's not at all easy. Really, the only good way to get that effect is to use a fountain/dip pen with a drawing nib, and that's messy, and a lot of hassle.
Server error: user 'Jake' not found

Hime
Veteran
Projects: Project Nattsu, Take Rena Home

#4 Post by Hime »