Possible VN Idea-Critique please :D

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Mimrose
Regular
Projects: Bitter Honey (Writer)

Possible VN Idea-Critique please :D

#1 Post by Mimrose »

Hi!

I started coming up with an idea for a VN that I'd like to see created one day eventually. Unfortunately, since I'm not very good at coding or art, I may just search around to see if anyone is interested in my idea and would like to help me create it. Anyways, I've attached a very small portion of what I've been working on-it has the summary of the VN (currently unnamed), descriptions of the main characters, and a tiny bit of a scene.

I haven't written very much since I take so long before I'm fully satisfied with what I have put down, but if I could get any critique I would really appreciate! Anything ideas or suggestions for improvement would be perfect :)

Thank you all in advance! :D

-Mimrose

EDIT: I uploaded the wrong version, whoops! x-x There isn't much of a difference, just that the second version has a bit more of scene in it. Here is the updated file:
VN Idea.doc
(43 KiB) Downloaded 124 times

Gear
Miko-Class Veteran
Projects: Tempestus Sum
Organization: Xenokos Interactive
IRC Nick: Gear

Re: Possible VN Idea-Critique please :D

#2 Post by Gear »

I would play it. The plot looks good, the characters seem well-fleshed out. I think if you took some time to learn Ren'Py, you could probably code this game mostly by yourself, just receiving some aid with any more complicated stuff you wanted to do with it (Ren'Py is actually a lot easier to learn than it seems).

The only critique I have is in the Prologue - I could cut the parts where she flat out says, I'm an orphan and My parents were killed. You paint the picture well enough in the rest of the Prologue that the reader can figure that out on their own without you having to flatly say it, which kinda breaks the immersion.