how can i license my novel

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
new one

how can i license my novel

#1 Post by new one »

musta/hi

im gonna make my novel into a visual novel

but

i have a fear that someone may steal my original story
how can i license it? free please hehe

also if i were to put my novel in a blog in pure text format
is there a way to protect it from plagiarists?

i know one way

the poor man's license

i get my script
put it in a package and send it to my home's address and not open it so i have an evidence that i made it

but for now i cant do that cause i only done a few chapters of my first novel and hundreds more to go

you could call my work light novel inspired by Japanese's works
cause i would like to follow the format of light novels

im really new to this kind of stuff
appreciate the help

papillon
Arbiter of the Internets
Completed: lots; see website!
Projects: something mysterious involving yuri, usually
Organization: Hanako Games
Tumblr: hanakogames

#2 Post by papillon »

Anything you make is automatically copyrighted. Which doesn't mean people can't steal it.

The mailing method is not legal and is a waste of time.

If you're worried, a better way to protect it is to make sure that you DO share it with enough people who can then vouch that you made it first.

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

#3 Post by PyTom »

If you want, you can register your work with the copyright office, for $45.

http://www.copyright.gov/register/literary.html

That's probably overkill, though. papillon is right, one of the best ways to establish primacy is to ensure that people know you're the author of it, by being the one to make it public.