How to fix blurry sprites / BGs in Ren'Py?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
chibiansem02

How to fix blurry sprites / BGs in Ren'Py?

#1 Post by chibiansem02 »

I'm so sorry if this is in the wrong spot ._.

I'm fairly new to Ren'Py and have been coding a game for roughly one week, however I seem to be having some sort of scaling problem.

My sprites look crisp and clean in all other programs, but when I add them to Ren'Py and launch my project, both the sprites and backgrounds appear a tiny bit blurred. It's not SUPER noticeable, but I'd like it cleared up, if possible :(
The images are blurry in fullscreen mode as well as normal.
My BG images is a .jpeg that is 1000 x 692
Sprite is a .png that is 400 x 580 (this seems a bit small to me, but if it is any larger it doesn't seem to fit properly in the window i.e. head gets cut off)
I used Gimp to scale the images, if this matters.

None of the text is blurry, only the images I have added.
Do most games run in fullscreen, or no?
Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? (Most likely something really obvious ;A;)

Thank you!!!!

chocojax
Miko-Class Veteran
Projects: Umbra, Familiarity, Maleficent Justice
Tumblr: chocojax

Re: How to fix blurry sprites / BGs in Ren'Py?

#2 Post by chocojax »

Uhh, I think it would be better to have the sprite's height be the same height as your window (you can check the width/height of the VN window through options.rpy), but I'm not sure if it automatically resizes it to the window's height or just keeps it scaled, or something.

A screenshot would be helpful for other people to help you, I think.

chibiansem02