Moving character image across screen to new position

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
ddalziel

Moving character image across screen to new position

#1 Post by ddalziel »

Hi all,

I'm new here and hope I can get some help.

I'm pretty much an absolute beginner. I've been following ren'py tutorials (like this one) and learning python on the side but my knowledge is extremely basic and confined to simple games so apologies in advance.

I'm trying to smoothly move a character image which is already on screen about xpos 0.1 or 0.15 over to the right. I've only ever used the predefined moveinleft etc for showing characters. Everything I've experimented with has errors so I think I may be approaching it the wrong way. I didn't understand looking at code in the tutorial file and I was hoping someone could help explain it to me.

this is what i was trying to use but it gets errors and I think I'm probably barking up the wrong tree:
show alice at xpos 0.85 with move

Any help is appreciated, looking forward to contributing myself :)

D

akemicchi
Veteran
Projects: Magicians of Delphine, Panaderia: Ensaimada, SweetTooth!, XOXO Droplets
Deviantart: littlebabyshoes

Re: Moving character image across screen to new position

#2 Post by akemicchi »

Hi! Welcome to Lemmasoft forums!

Have you see the documentation on ATL? (http://www.renpy.org/doc/html/atl.html) It would help a lot in learning how to make displayables do what you want it to. If you're using ATL, you'll have to put it in a block like this:

Code: Select all

show alice:
    xalign 0.0
    linear 0.3 xpos 0.85