How to come up with plot twists and interesting endings?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Heartstrings
Regular
Projects: Currently Unnamed Project

How to come up with plot twists and interesting endings?

#1 Post by Heartstrings »

I have very little experience writing, but I have a premise for a game I really want to make, so I'm taking a shot at it. My problem is I'm terrible at making a story interesting. "I sneaked out of the castle, joined a pirate crew, went on a big adventure, and saved the world" isn't very interesting. It needs plot twists, and a more interesting ending than, "and then I saved the world and lived happily ever after". Any help, personal experience, or resources would be very much appreciated.

Shinoki
Veteran
Completed: tender feelings like water, Follower A, Moon Archer Shooting Stars, Heart's Blight, from that moment she neglected the world
Projects: Pomegranate Fruit
itch: 4noki

Re: How to come up with plot twists and interesting endings?

#2 Post by Shinoki »

I think tvtropes.org is a pretty good resource. You can find a lot of character types, plot twists, and other stuff there. Taking a trope and changing it up in your story can make your thing more interesting. :v There are ending tropes too. (a problematic thing is that if you like to read these things, it might make you just... kind of.... loose your free time to the power of lots of text)

trooper6
Lemma-Class Veteran
Projects: A Close Shave

#3 Post by trooper6 »

"I snuck out of the castle, joined a pirate crew, went on a big adventure, and saved the world and lived happily ever after."