Jumping to another script? [Solved]

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
rjayne

Jumping to another script? [Solved]

#1 Post by rjayne »

Hi, Ren'py noob here. Sorry for the absurdly simple question, but I seem to be overlooking where the documentation makes reference to this.

I'd like to know how to jump to another script. In Python I would do:

Code: Select all

execfile("script_2.py") 
But Ren'Py is rejecting that. Likewise I've tried call call(""), action jump(") assuming it might work, but I'm a little at a loss about how it's done. Thanks.
Last edited by rjayne on Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mole-chan
Veteran
Completed: DUAEL, Escape from Puzzlegate
Projects: A Bird with Gold-Mended Wings
Deviantart: mole-chan
itch: moleworks

Re: Jumping to another script?

#2 Post by Mole-chan »

Is there a particular reason you're using Python (.py) instead of Ren'py (.rpy)?
With the latter, you should just be able to jump to your desired label, regardless of what file it's in. Because Ren'py looks across all .rpy files.

xela
Lemma-Class Veteran

#3 Post by xela »

Ren'Py's main loop is structured to call labels one after another or logically from a stack. What you're asking for might not be doable at higher level. But within they script_2.py file you're bound to have a code structure that you can import and execute within a label just as your would within pure python environment, try:

init:
    import script_2
# Delete all calls from the file and:

label start:
    python:
        func1()
        class.method2()
        # etc