resolution

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
muffin

resolution

#1 Post by muffin »

hello everybody this is my first post here. I'd have to say I'm quite surprised the ease of use Ren'Py, being a non-programmer myself. I went through the online quick start and documentation, and found it to be very clear and helpful. As an artist I like to work @ 1024x768 resolution for my work, problem being I'm not quite sure how to achieve this is my script.

init:
config.screen_height = 1024
config.screen_width = 768

label start:

On line 1 of D:\programs\renpy-6.7.1\theGoddess/game/script.rpy: init statement expects a non-empty block.
init:
^

On line 2 of D:\programs\renpy-6.7.1\theGoddess/game/script.rpy: expected statement.
^

On line 3 of D:\programs\renpy-6.7.1\theGoddess/game/script.rpy: expected statement.
^

this is what I have at start of my script, but doesn't work, I'm not sure If have to use a different script in the directory. If anyone can point out my mistake, I'd be most grateful.
thank you

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

Re: resolution

#2 Post by PyTom »

Your best bet is to edit the image sizes into options.rpy.

The proximate cause of your problem is that your code isn't indented correctly, and that you need to either proceed each python statement with a $ or use an init python block. But options.rpy has a nice init python block set up, so you should use that.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom